21+ Gambling problem? Call or text 1-800-MY-RESET. Offers are for new players 21+ (18+ where allowed); terms apply.
Best USACasinosTop casinos

Casino free chip bonuses explained

A casino free chip is a fixed dollar amount of bonus credit, such as $25 or $100, that a casino adds to your account without a deposit. It comes with wagering and a cap on what you can withdraw, often $100, so it works as a low-cost trial of a casino rather than a route to cash.

Key takeaways

  • A free chip is a no-deposit bonus paid as dollars, not spins, with wagering and a max cashout attached.
  • A $25 chip at 30x needs $750 of play; at a 3.75% house edge that costs about $28 on average, more than the chip.
  • Cashout caps of $100 to $200 are common, so a large win from a chip is mostly forfeited.
  • Codes change often and some are reported only by review sites; check the cashier before relying on one.
  • Partner casinos are offshore and not licensed by any US state.

Offers checked October 28, 2026

Top casinos for this page

Ad21+ (18+ where allowed). Ranked by us in a commercial order; we earn commission from these links. Advertiser disclosure

  1. Our top pick
    1
    Slots and specialty gamesRoyal Ace CasinoRead Royal Ace review
    Welcome bonus$2,500+ 35 Free Spins
    • Wagering30x deposit + bonus on slots (reported)
    • Min deposit$30 (reported)
    • Withdrawals$2,500 / week (reported)
    Claim bonus21+ · New players · Terms apply
    Key terms, license and regulator notes

    Published terms (reported): Third-party reviews disagree on the package (200% up to $4,000, or 250% up to $2,500 + 35 spins); the casino site could not be checked directly. Eligible games: Slots and specialty games (reported).

    Who runs it: License not shown; third parties report Costa Rica or none. Regulator notes: Third parties report it does not accept Ohio players.

    21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $30 (reported). Wagering 30x deposit + bonus on slots (reported). Max cashout: 10x deposit (reported). Withdrawal cap $2,500 / week (reported). Terms source: reported. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.

  2. 2
    Slots and kenoSlot Madness CasinoRead Slot Madness review
    Welcome bonus$2,500+ 50 Free Spins
    • Wagering30x deposit + bonus (reported)
    • Min deposit$30 (reported)
    • Withdrawals$2,500 / week (reported)
    Claim bonus21+ · New players · Terms apply
    Key terms, license and regulator notes

    Published terms (reported): Third-party reviews report a 275% match up to $2,750 with code MAD275; the casino site could not be checked directly. Eligible games: Slots and keno (reported).

    Who runs it: License not shown; third parties report Anjouan, Costa Rica or none. Regulator notes: Named in a Michigan Gaming Control Board cease-and-desist release, August 14, 2025.

    21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $30 (reported). Wagering 30x deposit + bonus (reported). Max cashout: None (reported). Withdrawal cap $2,500 / week (reported). Terms source: reported. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.

  3. 3
    Biggest bonus on our listSlotoCash CasinoRead SlotoCash review
    Welcome bonus$6,000+ 60 Free Spins
    • Wagering25x deposit + bonus
    • Min deposit$20 per bonus
    • Withdrawals$5,000 / week
    Claim bonus21+ · New players · Terms apply
    Key terms, license and regulator notes

    Published terms (casino terms): SlotoCash advertises up to $7,777 + 300 spins over five deposits on its own site. Eligible games: Slots, keno and scratch cards (progressive jackpots excluded).

    Who runs it: License not shown on its site; reported as a Deckmedia N.V. brand (Curaçao). Regulator notes: Named in a Michigan Gaming Control Board cease-and-desist release, October 8, 2026.

    21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $20 per bonus. Wagering 25x deposit + bonus. Max cashout: None stated. Withdrawal cap $5,000 / week. Terms source: casino terms. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.

Read before you play: These casinos are offshore operators. They are not licensed or regulated by any US state, and state consumer protections do not apply. Check the law in your state before you play. Terms marked “reported” come from third-party reviews because the casino’s own terms could not be checked; the terms shown at sign-up apply. Gambling problem? Call or text 1-800-MY-RESET.

What it is
No-deposit bonus credit in dollars
Typical sizes
$25, $50, $100
Typical wagering
30x to 40x the chip
Typical max cashout
$100 to $200
Age
21+ (18+ where allowed)

What is a casino free chip?

A casino free chip is bonus credit, stated in dollars, that you receive without depositing. You enter a code, the casino adds, say, $25 to your bonus balance, and you play eligible games with it. Anything left after meeting the wagering requirement can be withdrawn up to a fixed cap.

It is a type of no-deposit bonus, and the word “free” only means you don’t fund it. You still pay in time and in the house edge while you wager, and the cap decides the most you can take out. Our glossary definition of free chip gives the one-line version, and the casino bonuses hub lists every other bonus type.

Free chip vs free spins: what’s the difference?

Both are no-deposit offers, but they behave differently once credited.

Free chip compared with no-deposit free spins
FeatureFree chipNo-deposit free spins
What you getA dollar balance, e.g. $25A set number of spins on one slot
Game choiceAny eligible game, usually slots and kenoOne named slot
Bet sizeYou choose, within the max bet ruleFixed by the casino
Wagering applies toThe chip amountThe winnings from the spins
Typical cap$100 to $200Often similar; varies by offer

A chip gives more control over stake size and game. Free spins are simpler but lock you into one title. Decode is a useful example of both: its own site advertises a $111 free chip, and third-party reviews list a separate no-deposit code for 50 spins on RTG’s 777 slot.

Free chip math: what a $25, $50 or $100 chip is worth

To value a casino free chip, work out the total wagering and multiply it by the house edge. The examples use a slot with a 96.25% RTP, the figure third-party game databases report for RTG’s Sweet 16, so the house edge is 3.75%. All figures are averages; actual sessions vary a lot.

Published free chips at a 96.25% RTP slot (house edge 3.75%)
ChipWageringTotal to wagerExpected costMax cashout
Silver Oak SILVER25 ($25)30x$750$28.13$100
Silver Oak SILVER50 ($50)30x$1,500$56.25$100
Silver Oak FREESILVER ($100)30x$3,000$112.50$100
Planet 7 $25 chip, third-party30x$750$28.13$100
Silver Oak SILVER25 on video poker60x$1,500Depends on the game’s edge$100

In every row the expected cost of wagering is larger than the chip, so the average outcome is a zero balance. Free chips are worth taking only because the downside is your time: most attempts end at $0, and a few reach the cap. If you finish with $300 on a chip with a $100 cap, the extra $200 is removed.

Smaller bets don’t change the expected cost, which depends on the total wagered, but they do make the balance last longer and smooth out swings. A bigger bet raises volatility and also risks breaking a max bet rule. Our expected value of a bonus guide explains the method in more detail.

Free chip codes recorded at partner casinos

The table lists free chip offers found for our partners, with where each fact comes from: Silver Oak’s no-deposit codes page (opens in a new tab), SlotoCash’s bonus terms (opens in a new tab) and review sites. Codes rotate often and expire without notice, so confirm in the cashier.

Free chip and no-deposit offers recorded for partners
CasinoOfferTerms recordedSource
Silver OakSILVER25 ($25), SILVER50 ($50), FREESILVER ($100); birthday chips; VIP appreciation chips $100–$70030x (60x blackjack and video poker); $100 max cashout; general terms say no-deposit max withdrawal is 1x the bonus with a $100 minimum; birthday chips valid 7 daysPrimary
Planet 7$25 free chip, code 25FREECHIP (the same review also lists MY25FREE)30x slots, 60x table games and video poker; baccarat, roulette and craps don’t count; $100 max withdrawalThird-party
Decode$111 free chip on its homepage; RTG50GRANDE (50 no-deposit spins) reportedChip terms not visible on the site; spins reported at 40x, $200 max cashout, $10 max betPrimary / third-party
SlotoCashNo current free chip code published in the sources reviewedGeneral terms: free bonus cashouts minimum $25, maximum $200; back-to-back free bonuses may be voidedPrimary
Slot Madness“$25 No Deposit Bonus” listed by a review siteWagering not statedThird-party
Royal AcePlayer comments mention a past $50 no-deposit offerUnverified; no current terms published in the sources reviewedThird-party

Silver Oak’s two pages don’t quite match: the promotion page states a flat $100 cap, while the general terms describe the cap as 1x the bonus with a $100 minimum. For a $100 chip both give $100; read the cashier wording if a larger chip appears.

How to claim a casino free chip

  1. Open an account with your real name, address and date of birth. These must match your ID later, so never use false details.
  2. Find the current code on the casino’s promotions page or in its cashier, not on an old forum post. Our bonus codes page explains why old codes fail.
  3. Enter the code in the cashier’s coupon field and confirm the chip appears as bonus balance.
  4. Read the max bet, eligible games and cashout cap before your first spin.
  5. Play eligible games until wagering reaches zero, or until the balance runs out.
  6. Before your first withdrawal, check whether a deposit is needed first and complete verification.

Claim one free chip, then make a deposit before claiming another if you continue. SlotoCash’s terms say consecutive free bonuses may void bonuses and winnings. Opening extra accounts to repeat a chip breaks every casino’s terms and leads to confiscated balances.

Free chip rules that void winnings

Most free chip complaints come down to five clauses. Third-party reviews of Decode, for example, record member allegations that no-deposit codes weren’t honored and that an account was locked over a disputed max bet, so reading these rules is worth the five minutes.

  • Max cashout. Typically $100 to $200. See max cashout rules.
  • Max bet. Decode’s reported free spins code sets $10; many casinos set lower limits on chip play.
  • Excluded games. Planet 7’s reported terms say baccarat, roulette and craps don’t count; using them can void winnings.
  • Deposit before cashout. Some casinos require a deposit before paying out chip winnings, so check before you play.
  • Back-to-back free bonuses. SlotoCash’s terms warn they may void bonuses and winnings.

When a casino’s pages conflict, the stricter version may be applied. Our bonus abuse rules page explains what casinos treat as abuse.

$50 and $100 free chips: are bigger chips better?

A bigger chip lasts longer, but the cap usually stays the same. Silver Oak’s $25, $50 and $100 chips all show a $100 max cashout on its promotion page, so the $100 chip mainly gives you more attempts at reaching the cap. Because wagering scales with the chip, the expected cost scales too: $112.50 on the $100 chip versus $28.13 on the $25 chip.

Our dedicated pages on the $50 free chip and the $100 free chip go further into those two sizes.

Free chip cashout caps compared, including Miami Club's monthly free bonus

The cap is the number that decides a free chip's best case, and it varies more than the wagering. Here is what each partner publishes or is reported to apply to free bonuses.

Free bonus caps and wagering at partner casinos
CasinoFree bonusWageringMax cashoutSource
Silver OakSILVER25, SILVER50, FREESILVER30x (60x blackjack, video poker)$100 (terms: 1x bonus, $100 minimum)Primary
Miami ClubMIFREE20: $20 free each month40x5x the bonus (bonus terms) or $150 (Terms of Use)Primary
SlotoCashFree bonuses in generalNot stated per offer$25 minimum, $200 maximumPrimary
Planet 7$25 chip30x slots, 60x tables$100Third-party
DecodeRTG50GRANDE, 50 spins40x$200Third-party

Miami Club's monthly $20 shows how the pieces fit. At 40x, it needs $800 of bets, an expected cost of $30 at a 3.75% house edge. If you do finish with a balance, the bonus terms cap the payout at 5x, or $100, while section 3.2 of its Terms of Use says $150, and you must deposit $25 before any free bonus can be withdrawn. Ask support which cap applies. Miami Club runs WGS (Wager Gaming) games, not RTG. Its Terms of Use (section 1.6) list the United States as a prohibited jurisdiction, while the site owner's affiliate program confirms US players are accepted, so confirm at sign-up.

More on each casino's no-deposit terms is on our Miami Club no deposit bonus and Silver Oak no deposit bonus pages, and our guide to max cashout explained shows how caps are applied at withdrawal.

The legality depends on the casino and your state, not on whether you deposited. Real-money online casinos are state-licensed only in New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Michigan, West Virginia, Delaware, Connecticut and Rhode Island. Every casino named on this page is offshore and holds no US state license.

Michigan’s regulator has named several of them. Its August 14, 2025 release (opens in a new tab) lists Slot Madness among operators ordered to halt services in Michigan, and its October 8, 2026 release (opens in a new tab) includes SlotoCash. Silver Oak and Planet 7 were named on April 9, 2025. Read is it illegal to play at offshore casinos and check your state guide before you register.

Free chip alternatives with an offer via our links

The casinos below carry a deposit offer via our links. Their free chip terms are thin in the sources reviewed: Royal Ace’s no-deposit history comes only from player comments, Slot Madness’s from a review site, and SlotoCash publishes free bonus cashout limits but no current chip code. All three are offshore casinos, not licensed or regulated by any US state, so there is no state regulator to complain to and no state protection for balances. Check your state’s law first. Players must be 21+ (18+ where allowed) and terms apply.

  • Royal Ace Casino: $2,500 Welcome Bonus + 35 Free Spins, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply). Third-party reviews report 30x deposit plus bonus on slots, 60x on blackjack and video poker, and a max cashout of 10x the deposit; review sites disagree on the public package.
  • Slot Madness Casino: $2,500 Welcome Bonus + 50 Free Spins, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply). A review site lists its MAD275 code at 275% up to $2,750, $30 minimum, 30x deposit plus bonus on slots and no max cashout; another calls the match unlimited.
  • SlotoCash Casino: $6,000 Welcome Bonus + 60 Free Spins, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply). Its own site shows $7,777 + 300 spins over five deposits at 25x deposit plus bonus, $20 minimum per bonus, $10 max bet and no max cashout.

The terms in the cashier at sign-up apply and may differ from our headline. We earn a commission from these links and list partners in a commercial order.

Ad21+ (18+ where allowed). Ranked by us in a commercial order; we earn commission from these links. Advertiser disclosure

These casinos are offshore and not licensed by any US state. Free chip codes rotate; confirm the code, wagering and cashout cap in the cashier first.

Royal Ace Casino #6 on our listSlots and specialty games

$2,500 Welcome Bonus + 35 Free Spins

  • Wagering30x deposit + bonus on slots (reported)
  • Min deposit$30 (reported)
  • Max cashout10x deposit (reported)
  • Withdrawals$2,500 / week (reported)
Claim bonus21+. New players. Terms apply.Royal Ace review
Key terms, license and regulator notes

Published terms (reported): Third-party reviews disagree on the package (200% up to $4,000, or 250% up to $2,500 + 35 spins); the casino site could not be checked directly. Eligible games: Slots and specialty games (reported).

Who runs it: License not shown; third parties report Costa Rica or none. Regulator notes: Third parties report it does not accept Ohio players.

21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $30 (reported). Wagering 30x deposit + bonus on slots (reported). Max cashout: 10x deposit (reported). Withdrawal cap $2,500 / week (reported). Terms source: reported. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.

Slot Madness Casino #7 on our listSlots and keno

$2,500 Welcome Bonus + 50 Free Spins

  • Wagering30x deposit + bonus (reported)
  • Min deposit$30 (reported)
  • Max cashoutNone (reported)
  • Withdrawals$2,500 / week (reported)
Claim bonus21+. New players. Terms apply.Slot Madness review
Key terms, license and regulator notes

Published terms (reported): Third-party reviews report a 275% match up to $2,750 with code MAD275; the casino site could not be checked directly. Eligible games: Slots and keno (reported).

Who runs it: License not shown; third parties report Anjouan, Costa Rica or none. Regulator notes: Named in a Michigan Gaming Control Board cease-and-desist release, August 14, 2025.

21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $30 (reported). Wagering 30x deposit + bonus (reported). Max cashout: None (reported). Withdrawal cap $2,500 / week (reported). Terms source: reported. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.

SlotoCash Casino #1 on our listBiggest bonus on our list

$6,000 Welcome Bonus + 60 Free Spins

  • Wagering25x deposit + bonus
  • Min deposit$20 per bonus
  • Max cashoutNone stated
  • Withdrawals$5,000 / week
Claim bonus21+. New players. Terms apply.SlotoCash review
Key terms, license and regulator notes

Published terms (casino terms): SlotoCash advertises up to $7,777 + 300 spins over five deposits on its own site. Eligible games: Slots, keno and scratch cards (progressive jackpots excluded).

Who runs it: License not shown on its site; reported as a Deckmedia N.V. brand (Curaçao). Regulator notes: Named in a Michigan Gaming Control Board cease-and-desist release, October 8, 2026.

21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $20 per bonus. Wagering 25x deposit + bonus. Max cashout: None stated. Withdrawal cap $5,000 / week. Terms source: casino terms. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.

These casinos are offshore operators. They are not licensed or regulated by any US state, and state consumer protections do not apply. Check the law in your state before you play. Terms marked “reported” come from third-party reviews; the terms shown at sign-up apply.

21+ (18+ where allowed). Every casino game has a built-in house edge, so over time you should expect to lose what you stake. Set a budget before you play and stop when it’s gone: responsible gambling tools and free help. Gambling problem? Call or text 1-800-MY-RESET (1-800-697-3738).

Frequently asked questions

What is a free chip in an online casino?

A free chip is no-deposit bonus credit in dollars, such as $25, that the casino adds to your account, usually with a code. You play it on eligible games, meet the wagering, and can then withdraw up to a capped amount, often $100. Our what is a free chip answer gives a quick summary.

Can you win real money with a casino free chip?

Yes, but only up to the max cashout and after meeting the wagering. Silver Oak’s chips, for example, carry 30x wagering and a $100 cap on its promotion page. On average the cost of the wagering exceeds the chip, so most attempts end at zero. Read can you win real money online for the wider picture.

How much do I have to wager on a $25 free chip?

At 30x, a $25 chip needs $750 in bets. At a 3.75% house edge, that wagering costs about $28.13 on average, which is why most chips end at $0. At 60x, which some casinos apply to blackjack and video poker, the requirement doubles to $1,500. Our wagering requirements explained guide shows the full formula.

Do I need to deposit to cash out a free chip win?

Sometimes, yes. Several offshore casinos require a deposit before paying out no-deposit winnings, and all require identity verification before a withdrawal. Check the free chip terms before you play rather than after you win, and have your photo ID and a recent utility bill ready, since those are the documents casinos commonly ask for. Our how to withdraw from an online casino guide lists the usual steps.

Why would a casino remove my free chip bonus winnings?

The usual reasons are breaking the max bet, playing an excluded game, exceeding the cashout cap, or claiming free bonuses back to back. Duplicate accounts are another common cause; a complaint reported on a review site’s forum describes a $100 Silver Oak cashout refused over an alleged duplicate account. Ask support which clause applied and request it in writing. See why was my bonus removed.

Where do I find working free chip codes?

Start with the casino’s own promotions page and cashier, since codes listed elsewhere are often expired. Silver Oak publishes SILVER25, SILVER50 and FREESILVER on its no-deposit page, while other codes are reported only by review sites. Never trust a code that asks you to share login details. Our bonus codes that work page explains how to check one.

Is a free chip better than a deposit bonus?

It is lower risk but also lower reward. A chip costs you nothing upfront, but caps of $100 to $200 limit what you can keep. A deposit match puts your own money at stake with wagering on both deposit and bonus. Use a chip to try a casino’s games and support; see best no deposit bonus casinos for options.

Is there a wagering requirement on Decode's $111 free chip?

Almost certainly, but Decode's own site didn't show the terms beside its $111 free chip when checked, so ask support for the multiple and cap before you play. For comparison, LCB reports Decode's RTG50GRANDE no-deposit code, 50 spins on RTG's 777, at 40x with a $200 max cashout and a $10 max bet. Third-party reviews also report that Decode refuses players from Maryland, New Jersey, New York and Washington. Treat any figure as unconfirmed until the cashier shows it. See our Decode no deposit bonus page.

Can I use a casino free chip on blackjack?

Sometimes, but blackjack usually needs double the wagering or doesn't count at all. Silver Oak's no-deposit codes carry 60x on blackjack and video poker against 30x on slots, so a $25 chip needs $1,500 of blackjack bets instead of $750. Its terms also exclude baccarat, craps, roulette, pai gow poker and several other games. Planet 7's reported terms say baccarat, roulette and craps don't count, and SlotoCash's general terms exclude table games by default. Check before your first hand, and see our table games bonus page.

How long does a casino free chip last before it expires?

It varies from a week to several months, and some casinos don't publish a limit. Silver Oak's birthday chips are valid for seven days, while SlotoCash's general terms give bonuses 90 days from redemption. Miami Club's bonus terms say accounts with no deposit that sit inactive for 60 days lose their balance, which matters if you claim a free bonus and then stop playing. Silver Oak doesn't publish an expiry for its SILVER25, SILVER50 and FREESILVER codes, so ask. Our bonus expiry page explains the different clocks.

How many spins does it take to clear a $25 free chip?

At 30x, a $25 chip needs $750 of bets, which is 750 spins at $1 or 3,000 spins at $0.25. The expected cost is the same either way, about $28.13 at a 3.75% house edge, because it depends on the total wagered. Smaller spins make the balance last longer and give more chances of a run toward the cap, but they take far more time. Bigger spins finish faster or bust faster, and risk breaking a max bet rule. Our low stakes guide covers small-bet play.

Is a free chip worth claiming if I never plan to deposit?

It can be, as a free look at a casino's games and support, but read the cashout rules first. Some casinos make you deposit before free-chip winnings can be withdrawn. Miami Club's bonus terms require a $25 deposit before a free bonus can be cashed out, and SlotoCash's general terms set a $25 minimum and $200 maximum on free-bonus cashouts. You'll also need to pass identity checks. If you won't deposit at all, a chip may never pay out. Our answer on what a no deposit bonus is explains the usual conditions.

Do I pay tax on free chip winnings?

Yes, money you win and withdraw from a free chip counts as gambling winnings, which are taxable federal income. For payments made in 2026, IRS instructions set the Form W-2G threshold for slot, bingo and keno winnings at $2,000, far above typical free-chip caps of $100 to $200, but you still owe tax on smaller wins. Offshore casinos may not issue forms, so keep your own record of deposits, withdrawals and dates. Our answer on paying tax on casino winnings covers reporting.

Can I claim a casino free chip in Washington State?

Washington law prohibits online gambling, so no licensed site there offers a free chip, and the state's law covers offshore sites too. Under RCW 9.46.240, knowingly transmitting or receiving gambling information over the internet is a class C felony. The Washington State Gambling Commission sent Bovada a second cease-and-desist in September 2025. Third-party reviews also report that Decode refuses Washington players, and we show no offers on Washington pages. Read our Washington no deposit bonuses page for the state's position.

Sources