Online blackjack is the same race to 21 you know from a casino floor, dealt by a random number generator instead of a person. Below: how RealTime Gaming's version works, what each rule change costs in dollars, why insurance loses money, what basic strategy can and can't do, and how bonuses treat blackjack.
RealTime Gaming's Blackjack (released 2017, per SlotCatalog) has no published RTP, so check the game's help screen for its rules.
A 3:2 payout returns $15 on a $10 blackjack; 6:5 returns $12. Always check which one the table uses.
Insurance at 2:1 costs about 7.7% of the insurance stake, as the arithmetic below shows.
Basic strategy lowers the house edge but doesn't remove it. RNG blackjack reshuffles every hand, so counting doesn't work.
Our partner casinos are offshore and not licensed by any US state. Bonuses often exclude blackjack or weight it at 60x.
Developer
RealTime Gaming (RTG)
Released
July 10, 2017 (SlotCatalog)
RTP
Not published
Bet range
13 to 3,100, currency not stated (SlotCatalog)
Max win
9,300, unit not stated (SlotCatalog)
Card counting
Not effective: RNG shuffles every hand
How online blackjack works
In online blackjack you play one hand (or a few) against the dealer. Both sides start with two cards, you see one of the dealer's cards, and you try to finish closer to 21 than the dealer without going over. Number cards count face value, jacks, queens and kings count 10, and an ace counts 1 or 11.
An ace that can still count as 11 makes a soft hand, such as ace-6 (soft 17). A hand with no flexible ace is a hard hand. This matters for strategy and for the dealer's rules, because some tables make the dealer hit soft 17 and others make the dealer stand.
The software version sold by RealTime Gaming is simply called Blackjack. SlotCatalog lists a July 10, 2017 release, a bet range of 13 to 3,100 and a top win of 9,300, without naming the currency or unit. No RTP for it appears in the sources available to us, so its exact rule set (deck count, soft 17, doubling and splitting limits) should be read in the game's own help screen before you play for real money.
For the full step-by-step on a first session, our how to play blackjack guide walks through the table layout. This page focuses on the money: what each decision and rule is worth.
Your options at an online blackjack table
Every round gives you a small menu of decisions. Each one changes how much money is on the table and how the hand plays out.
Blackjack player options and what they do to your stake
Option
What happens
Effect on $10 bet
Hit
Take another card
Stake stays $10
Stand
Keep your total
Stake stays $10
Double down
Double the bet, take exactly one card
Stake becomes $20
Split
Turn a pair into two hands
Two hands of $10 each
Insurance
Side bet that the dealer has blackjack, offered when the dealer shows an ace
Up to $5 extra
Surrender (if offered)
Give up the hand and get half back
Lose $5 instead of risking $10
Whether a particular RTG table allows surrender or doubling after a split isn't listed in our sources, so check the rules panel.
Blackjack payouts: 3:2 vs 6:5 in real money
A natural blackjack (an ace plus a 10-value card as your first two cards) traditionally pays 3:2. Some tables pay 6:5 instead. The difference sounds tiny but adds up quickly.
What a natural blackjack pays at different stakes
Bet
Paid at 3:2
Paid at 6:5
Difference
$5
$7.50
$6
$1.50
$10
$15
$12
$3
$25
$37.50
$30
$7.50
$100
$150
$120
$30
How often do you get a natural? Using a simple infinite-deck approximation, the chance of an ace is 1/13 and a 10-value card is 4/13. There are two orders (ace first or ten first), so 2 × 1/13 × 4/13 = 8/169, or about 4.7% of hands. Over 200 hands at $10, that is roughly 9.5 naturals, and a 6:5 table would pay about 9.5 × $3 = $28.50 less than a 3:2 table for the same play.
House edge in online blackjack: what it costs per session
The house edge is the share of each dollar wagered that the casino expects to keep over the long run. The formula for any game is the same: expected loss = total amount wagered × house edge. Our house edge explainer covers the idea in more depth.
RTG doesn't publish an RTP for its plain Blackjack table in any source we could use, so we can't give you its edge. What we can show is how much the edge matters. RTG blackjack variants with published figures give a sense of the range: GamesHub and SlotCatalog list Suit 'Em Up Blackjack at up to 99.51% RTP (an edge of 0.49%), and GamesHub lists Blackjack + Perfect Pairs at 95.9% to 99.59%.
Expected loss for 200 hands at $10 (total wagered $2,000) at sample house edges
House edge (illustration)
Expected loss
Per hand
0.5%
$10
$0.05
1%
$20
$0.10
2%
$40
$0.20
4%
$80
$0.40
The edges in that table are examples for the arithmetic, not claims about any specific game. The point: mistakes in strategy, a 6:5 payout or regular insurance bets can easily double or triple your expected cost, and short sessions can swing far above or below these averages.
Why blackjack insurance loses money
When the dealer shows an ace, the game offers insurance: a side bet of up to half your stake that pays 2:1 if the dealer has blackjack. It sounds protective, but the math works against you.
With the infinite-deck approximation, 4 of every 13 cards are worth 10. So the dealer completes a blackjack about 4/13 of the time and misses 9/13 of the time. On a $5 insurance bet you win $10 with probability 4/13 and lose $5 with probability 9/13: (4/13 × $10) − (9/13 × $5) = $40/13 − $45/13 = −$5/13, or about −$0.38. That is a loss of roughly 7.7% of every insurance dollar, far worse than the main game.
"Even money" on your own blackjack against a dealer ace is the same insurance bet in a different form, and the same arithmetic applies.
Basic strategy for real money blackjack online
Basic strategy is the mathematically best play for every combination of your hand and the dealer's up card. It reduces the house edge compared with guessing or copying the dealer, but it doesn't turn the game in your favor. Our full blackjack basic strategy chart covers every hand; the steps below show how to use it.
Open the game's help or rules panel and note the deck count, whether the dealer hits or stands on soft 17, the blackjack payout and the doubling and splitting rules.
Use a strategy chart built for those rules. Charts differ slightly between hit-soft-17 and stand-soft-17 games.
Decide pairs first (split or not), then soft hands, then hard hands.
Turn down insurance and even money.
Set your stake so a long losing run won't hurt: a bankroll of 30 to 50 bets is a common rule of thumb for budgeting, not a promise it will last.
Stop at your planned time or loss limit, win or lose.
Card counting works in theory only when cards are dealt from a shoe that isn't reshuffled after each round. It tracks whether the remaining cards are rich in 10s and aces. In software blackjack the random number generator effectively reshuffles every hand, so there is nothing to track. Our guide to card counting online covers the history.
Betting systems don't change the edge either. The Martingale doubles your bet after every loss to recover it with one win. Here is what a $5 starting bet looks like after a losing run:
Martingale from a $5 base bet
Losses in a row
Next bet
Total lost so far
1
$10
$5
3
$40
$35
5
$160
$155
7
$640
$635
9
$2,560
$2,555
Each win in that system only nets the original $5, while a streak of losses can run into a table maximum or your budget. The house edge applies to every dollar along the way. See is Martingale a good strategy for the full answer.
RTG blackjack variants you'll see in the lobby
RealTime Gaming, which Wikipedia says was founded in Atlanta in 1998, offers several blackjack-style games, and PokerListings reports that it adopted the SpinLogic Gaming brand for its US operations in 2022. Each variant changes the rules or adds a side bet.
Suit 'Em Up Blackjack: adds a suited bonus side bet; GamesHub lists a dealer who hits soft 17.
Which of these a given casino carries changes over time, so check its lobby. The games hub lists every table game we cover.
Online blackjack bonuses and wagering rules
Most offshore welcome bonuses are built for slots. Blackjack is often excluded from bonus play or counted at a heavier rate, because its edge is low. Our page on the best bonus for blackjack and the bonus game weighting explainer go further.
A worked example shows why. Say you take a $100 deposit with a $200 bonus and the wagering is 60x (bonus + deposit), as LCB reports for blackjack at Royal Ace. That is 60 × $300 = $18,000 of bets. At a 1% sample edge, the expected cost of clearing it is $180, more than the bonus itself. At 30x on slots the turnover would be $9,000, but slots usually carry a higher edge.
SlotoCash's own terms go further: only slots, Real-Series slots, keno and scratch cards count, and play on other games voids promotion winnings. So playing blackjack with an active SlotoCash welcome bonus can cost you the bonus winnings.
Is online blackjack legal in the USA?
Real-money online blackjack is licensed by the state only in New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Michigan, West Virginia, Delaware, Connecticut and Rhode Island. Maine passed a law for tribal online casinos in January 2026, but nothing had launched by October 2026. Elsewhere, no state licenses online casinos; our states with legal online casinos page has the detail.
The casinos that offer RTG blackjack to most Americans are offshore. No US state licenses or regulates them, so there's no state regulator to complain to and no state protection of your balance. Michigan's regulator has named several of them in cease-and-desist letters, including Planet 7 and Silver Oak in its April 9, 2025 release (opens in a new tab). State law decides what applies to you, so read our guide to offshore casino legality and your state's page before you play.
Keeping blackjack a game
Blackjack's low edge can make sessions last a long time, which means more total money wagered. Set a time limit and a loss limit before you start, and treat the cost as entertainment spending. If it stops being fun, our responsible gambling hub lists tools and help.
Where to play online blackjack: offers via our links
These partners run RTG software and are listed for blackjack in our best blackjack casinos ranking, which follows a commercial order: we earn commission when you sign up. They are offshore casinos, not licensed by any US state. Check your state's law before depositing, and expect bonuses to be slot-focused, with blackjack often excluded or weighted more heavily.
Royal Ace Casino: $2,500 Welcome Bonus + 35 Free Spins, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply).
Slot Madness Casino: $2,500 Welcome Bonus + 50 Free Spins, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply).
SlotoCash Casino: $6,000 Welcome Bonus + 60 Free Spins, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply).
Royal Ace's own terms couldn't be checked, and third-party listings disagree: LCB's Royal Ace listing (opens in a new tab) reports 200% up to $4,000 with 30x (bonus + deposit) wagering on slots and parlor games, 60x on blackjack and video poker, and a max cashout of 10x the deposit, while Casino Guru reports 250% up to $2,500 plus 35 extra spins with no wagering figure shown. Treat these as third-party reports and go by the terms shown at sign-up.
Slot Madness's own terms couldn't be checked either. Third-party reviews report a 275% match with code MAD275 and a $30 minimum deposit; LCB's Slot Madness listing (opens in a new tab) gives 30x (bonus + deposit) wagering on slots and no max cashout, esports.gg names slots and keno as the eligible games, and the reported cap differs ($2,750 per LCB, unlimited per Casino Guru).
SlotoCash publishes its terms. Its bonus terms page (opens in a new tab) lists 25x (deposit + bonus) wagering, a $20 minimum deposit per bonus, a $10 maximum bet while a bonus is active and no max cashout on the welcome package. Only slots, Real-Series slots (not progressives), keno and scratch cards are eligible, and the terms say play on other games voids promotion winnings. The casino's own site advertises a different package ($7,777 + 300 spins over five deposits) from the offer via our link.
Read the full reviews of Royal Ace, Slot Madness and SlotoCash for banking, payout reports and complaints before you sign up.
Ad21+ (18+ where allowed). Ranked by us in a commercial order; we earn commission from these links. Advertiser disclosure
These partners are offshore casinos, not licensed by any US state. Check your state's law first; 21+ (18+ where allowed), terms apply.
Royal Ace Casino#6 on our listSlots and specialty games
Published terms (reported): Third-party reviews disagree on the package (200% up to $4,000, or 250% up to $2,500 + 35 spins); the casino site could not be checked directly. Eligible games: Slots and specialty games (reported).
Who runs it: License not shown; third parties report Costa Rica or none. Regulator notes: Third parties report it does not accept Ohio players.
21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $30 (reported). Wagering 30x deposit + bonus on slots (reported). Max cashout: 10x deposit (reported). Withdrawal cap $2,500 / week (reported). Terms source: reported. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.
Published terms (reported): Third-party reviews report a 275% match up to $2,750 with code MAD275; the casino site could not be checked directly. Eligible games: Slots and keno (reported).
Who runs it: License not shown; third parties report Anjouan, Costa Rica or none. Regulator notes: Named in a Michigan Gaming Control Board cease-and-desist release, August 14, 2025.
21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $30 (reported). Wagering 30x deposit + bonus (reported). Max cashout: None (reported). Withdrawal cap $2,500 / week (reported). Terms source: reported. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.
SlotoCash Casino#1 on our listBiggest bonus on our list
Published terms (casino terms): SlotoCash advertises up to $7,777 + 300 spins over five deposits on its own site. Eligible games: Slots, keno and scratch cards (progressive jackpots excluded).
Who runs it: License not shown on its site; reported as a Deckmedia N.V. brand (Curaçao). Regulator notes: Named in a Michigan Gaming Control Board cease-and-desist release, October 8, 2026.
21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $20 per bonus. Wagering 25x deposit + bonus. Max cashout: None stated. Withdrawal cap $5,000 / week. Terms source: casino terms. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.
These casinos are offshore operators. They are not licensed or regulated by any US state, and state consumer protections do not apply. Check the law in your state before you play. Terms marked “reported” come from third-party reviews; the terms shown at sign-up apply.
21+ (18+ where allowed). Every casino game has a built-in house edge, so over time you should expect to lose what you stake. Set a budget before you play and stop when it’s gone: responsible gambling tools and free help. Gambling problem? Call or text 1-800-MY-RESET (1-800-697-3738).
Frequently asked questions
Can you play online blackjack for real money in the US?
Yes, but legally licensed real-money online blackjack exists only in New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Michigan, West Virginia, Delaware, Connecticut and Rhode Island. In other states, the sites offering it are offshore casinos that no US state licenses, so you have no state regulator to turn to if a payout goes wrong. State law decides what applies to you; see our legal online casino states page.
What is the RTP of RTG Blackjack?
RealTime Gaming hasn't published an RTP for its standard Blackjack table in any source we could verify. SlotCatalog lists its release date and bet range but not its return. Related RTG variants do have published figures: Suit 'Em Up Blackjack is listed at up to 99.51% and Blackjack + Perfect Pairs at 95.9% to 99.59% by GamesHub. Check the game's help screen for its rules, and read our RTP explainer for how these numbers work.
Is online blackjack rigged?
There's no published evidence that RTG blackjack is rigged, but you also can't verify it the way you could at a state-licensed site. LCB and GamblingNews report that RTG games are tested by Technical Systems Testing. Offshore casinos aren't overseen by a US state regulator, so fairness rests on the software provider and the casino. Our guide to how RNGs work explains more.
Does card counting work in online blackjack?
No, not in RNG blackjack. Counting relies on cards leaving a shoe that isn't reshuffled, but software blackjack effectively deals each hand from a freshly shuffled deck. That leaves nothing to count, so tracking past cards gives no information about the next hand. Card counting is interesting history and theory, which our card counting online guide covers, along with the answer to can you count cards online.
Should I take insurance in online blackjack?
No, insurance is a losing bet over time. With 4 of every 13 cards worth 10, a 2:1 insurance payout returns about $0.38 less than you stake on every $5, roughly 7.7% of the insurance money. That's a much higher cost than the main hand. The same applies to taking even money on your own blackjack. See our insurance definition and basic strategy guide for the full reasoning.
Does online blackjack count toward casino bonus wagering?
Often not, or only at a heavier wagering rate. SlotoCash's terms limit welcome bonus play to slots, keno and scratch cards and say other games void promotion winnings. LCB reports Royal Ace wagering of 60x (bonus + deposit) on blackjack versus 30x on slots. Always read the eligible games list before playing blackjack with bonus money, and see our table games bonus page.
What's the difference between 3:2 and 6:5 blackjack?
It's how much a natural blackjack pays. At 3:2, a $10 bet wins $15; at 6:5 it wins $12. Since a natural comes up in roughly 4.7% of hands, a 6:5 table costs about $28.50 more over 200 hands at $10 than a 3:2 table. Look for the payout printed on the table or in the rules panel, and compare with our best blackjack casinos notes.
How much should I bring to an online blackjack session?
Only money you can afford to lose, sized so that a long losing run won't push you to chase. A common budgeting rule is 30 to 50 times your base bet, so $150 to $250 for $5 hands. That's a way to plan, not a promise the money lasts. Our bankroll management guide and what is a good bankroll answer go through the math.
Is online blackjack legal in Florida?
No, Florida doesn't license online casinos, so there's no legal state-regulated way to play real money blackjack online there. Florida law treats unauthorized casino-style games as criminal under sections 849.08 and 849.15 of the state statutes, and the Florida Gaming Control Commission oversees the gambling the state does allow. The RTG blackjack tables Floridians see are at offshore casinos that no US state licenses, which means no state complaint route if a payout goes wrong. Read our Florida online casino guide and can I play online casinos in Florida before you sign up anywhere.
Can I play online blackjack on my phone?
Yes, RTG blackjack runs in a phone's web browser at the casinos on this page, without an app. SlotoCash's own support page says there's currently no app or software required and suggests adding a home-screen shortcut. Third-party reviews report browser play on Android and iPhone at Slot Madness, and AskGamblers lists Royal Ace with instant play and mobile access. The hit, stand, double and split buttons work the same as on desktop, but check that the rules panel opens properly. Our guides to playing on iPhone and playing on Android cover the setup.
How long do online blackjack withdrawals take?
At offshore RTG casinos, plan for anything from two business days to a month. SlotoCash's banking page lists two business days for Bitcoin, wire and check, though another of its pages gives wires 7 to 14 business days, with a $5,000 weekly limit. For Royal Ace, AskGamblers reports a pending period of 7 to 10 days and a $2,500 weekly cap, and LCB says payouts are usually issued after a month or more. Pass verification before you request, so documents don't add delay. Read how long do casino withdrawals take and the SlotoCash withdrawals page.
What are the bet limits in RTG online blackjack?
SlotCatalog lists RTG Blackjack with a minimum bet of 13 and a maximum of 3,100, without naming the currency, and a top win of 9,300, which is exactly three times the maximum bet. Casinos can set their own table limits, so check the chip values in the game. Bonus rules can also cap your stake: SlotoCash's welcome bonus terms set a $10 maximum bet while a bonus is active. Size bets so a losing run won't empty your balance in a few hands. Our high roller guide and low stakes guide cover both ends of the range.
What is the minimum deposit for online blackjack?
At the casinos on this page it's typically $25 to $30 by card and as little as $5 by Bitcoin Lightning. SlotoCash's banking page lists $25 for Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Bitcoin and Ethereum, $10 for Litecoin and $5 for Bitcoin Lightning. Third-party listings report $30 by card and $5 by Lightning at Royal Ace and Slot Madness. A bonus can carry its own higher minimum, such as the $30 reported for Slot Madness's code. At $5 a hand, $25 covers five hands before any wins, so think about session length too. See casino minimum deposits and our Bitcoin banking page.
Do I pay tax on online blackjack winnings?
Yes, blackjack winnings are taxable federal income, whether you play at a state-licensed site or an offshore casino. Form W-2G rules differ by game: for table-style wagering, the IRS instructions tie reporting to winnings that meet the $2,000 threshold and are at least 300 times the wager, so most blackjack wins never trigger a form. You still owe tax on them. Offshore casinos may not issue a W-2G, so keep your own session records. The loss deduction is reported to be capped at 90% of losses from 2026; check IRS guidance. See gambling taxes and what is a W-2G.
We use no tracking cookies. We store one item in your browser to remember this notice. Casino sites may set their own cookies after you follow an advert link. Cookie policy