What happens if a casino closes depends on who licensed it. At an offshore casino, no US state regulator stands behind your balance, so getting paid depends on the operator's goodwill and its withdrawal caps. A state-licensed site answers to a regulator you can contact. Here's what closures look like in practice and how to limit what you could lose.
Offshore casinos have no state-backed protection of balances; Michigan's regulator says it can't help players recover deposits from them.
Weekly caps mean a large balance leaves slowly: $12,000 takes five weekly requests at a $2,500 cap.
"Closing" often means leaving one state, a sale or a dormant-account rule rather than a full shutdown.
Withdraw regularly, finish verification early and keep written records of your balance and support chats.
State backstop at offshore sites
None
Michigan regulator on offshore deposits
Can't help players recover them
SlotoCash weekly cap
$5,000 (casino's terms)
Royal Ace and Slot Madness weekly cap
$2,500 (third-party reports)
SlotoCash dormancy rule
Balance voided after 12 months without login
What happens if a casino closes: the short answer
If a state-licensed casino shuts its online site, there is a regulator overseeing the operator, so you have an official body to contact about your account. The seven states that license real-money online casinos are listed on our page of states with legal online casinos.
Offshore casinos are different. Our partners and most sites US players find are licensed (if at all) outside the US and are not regulated by any US state. When one closes, stops serving your state or freezes your account, there is no state-backed fund and no state regulator that can order a payout. The Michigan Gaming Control Board's October 8, 2026 release (opens in a new tab) warns that offshore sites operate illegally in Michigan, and the board's records note it cannot help players recover deposits from them.
For more straight answers on offshore payouts, safety and the law, browse our online casino questions hub.
Four ways a casino can close on US players
Few casinos simply vanish overnight. More often a brand leaves one state after a regulator's letter, changes hands, rebrands, or closes individual accounts under its own terms. Each version affects your money differently.
Types of casino closure and what they mean for your balance
Type
What it looks like
Recorded example
Source type
Exit from one state
Brand stops serving residents of a state, often after a cease-and-desist letter
Pulsz closed Arizona accounts on September 19, 2025 after the Arizona Department of Gaming's letter
Third-party
Phased state exit
Play ends on a set date, with a window to redeem
Blazesoft brands such as Fortune Wins ended Sweeps Coin play in Illinois, with redemptions open until June 7, 2026
Third-party
Planned stop date in terms
The brand's own terms announce an end date
McLuck's terms of service (v2.6, October 14, 2026) say it ceases Oklahoma operations on November 1, 2026
Primary
Rebrand or sale
Same games and accounts under a new name or owner
Fortune Coins rebranded to Fortune Wins in April 2026
Third-party
Account-level closure
Your account is closed or a dormant balance is removed under the casino's terms
SlotoCash voids balances after 12 months without login
Primary
Most of the state exits above involve sweepstakes casinos, which use Gold Coins and Sweeps Coins rather than cash balances. Bovada, an offshore real-money brand, restricted West Virginia around July 15, 2024 after a West Virginia Lottery letter, according to third-party reports. Our guide to sweepstakes vs real-money casinos explains why the two models are treated differently.
What happens to your balance when an offshore casino closes or exits
Your balance is only as safe as the operator's willingness to pay it. No US state holds it in trust, and offshore terms let the casino set how fast money leaves. That's why weekly and monthly withdrawal caps matter more than headline bonuses if a brand is winding down.
Published or reported withdrawal caps at our partner casinos
Casino
Weekly cap
Monthly cap
Source type
SlotoCash
$5,000
$20,000 (VIP up to $30,000, period not stated)
Primary
Miami Club
$5,000 in its Terms of Use; $2,500 to $3,000 per method on its banking page
Not stated; larger sums paid in weekly installments
Primary
Silver Oak
From $2,500, raised by VIP level
$5,000 if your balance is at least 10x total deposits, otherwise $10,000
Primary
Royal Ace
$2,500
$5,000
Third-party
Slot Madness
$2,500
$5,000
Third-party
Planet 7
$2,500 per week (LCB, casino.guru); AskGamblers shows EUR 2,500 per day
Not found
Third-party
Here's the arithmetic on a $12,000 balance. At a $2,500 weekly cap you need five weekly requests ($12,000 ÷ $2,500 = 4.8, rounded up). At $5,000 a week you need three. Where a $5,000 monthly cap also applies, as reported for Royal Ace and Slot Madness, the same $12,000 takes three calendar months ($12,000 ÷ $5,000 = 2.4, rounded up). If a casino stops paying partway through, whatever is still waiting is exposed.
Dormant accounts: when the casino closes your balance for you
The most common "closure" players meet is the dormancy clause. If you stop logging in, the casino can mark the account inactive and remove the money under its own terms. Silver Oak, SlotoCash and Miami Club all publish rules on this.
Dormant account rules in partner casinos' own terms
Casino
Trigger
What happens
Can it be restored?
SlotoCash
12 consecutive months without login
Balance voided
At management's discretion
Miami Club
12 consecutive months without login
Account inactive; real-money balance removed
On request
Miami Club (bonus terms)
Deposit-free accounts inactive for 60 days
Balance lost
Not stated
Silver Oak
2 years inactive
Account may be deleted after an email notice
Not stated
Royal Ace, Slot Madness, Planet 7 and Decode don't have dormancy rules on record from their own sites, so check their current terms. Our guide to casino dormant accounts covers how to keep an old account from lapsing, or how to close it cleanly.
Sales, rebrands and changing operators
When a casino is sold, your account usually moves with the brand, but the company you'd be dealing with in a dispute may change. That matters when ownership is already unclear.
Royal Ace: third-party sources name three different operators: Emoney Processing Ltd. (AskGamblers), Primrose Media Limited (casino.guru) and Ace Revenue Group (LCB and CasinoListings). LCB's overview says it was sold to Virtual Casino Group, sold again later, and moved from Costa Rica to Eastern Europe.
Slot Madness: AskGamblers names EH Gaming Ventures Inc, casino.guru names Primrose Media Limited, and LCB says Ace Revenue Group, now part of Virtual Casino Group.
SlotoCash and Miami Club: neither names an operator on its own site, but both are widely reported as Deckmedia N.V. brands.
Silver Oak: the only partner that names its operator, Primrose Media Limited (registration number 15804, Anjouan), in its own terms.
Copycat domains also appear when brands change. Treat any lookalike as an unofficial mirror site, never as confirmation of the casino's current terms, and only use the address the casino itself gives you.
Cease-and-desist letters: when a casino is ordered out of your state
State regulators send cease-and-desist letters to offshore casinos telling them to stop serving residents. Some brands respond by blocking that state, which can strand balances held by its players. The Michigan Gaming Control Board has named five of our partners:
Silver Oak and Planet 7: April 9, 2025.
Miami Club and Slot Madness: August 14, 2025.
SlotoCash: October 8, 2026.
The board calls these illegal offshore operators. Its April 9, 2025 release (opens in a new tab) gave the 13 named operators 14 days to stop. None of the partners publishes how it handled Michigan accounts afterward, so if you live in a state that has acted, check your account and withdraw what you can under the published caps. See our page on online casinos in Michigan for that state's full position.
What to do if you think your casino is closing
Warning signs include a sudden notice that your state is no longer served, withdrawals stuck far longer than the published processing time, support that stops replying, or a new domain you weren't told about. If you see them, act in this order:
Screenshot your balance, transaction history, pending withdrawals and the casino's current terms, with dates visible.
Finish verification now. Every partner requires ID before a payout, and delays in this step are the most common reason a request stalls.
Request a withdrawal of your available balance up to the weekly cap, using a method that pays to an account in your name.
Write to support (chat or email) asking for the payout timeline in writing, and save every reply.
Raise a formal dispute within the casino's own window: SlotoCash's terms allow 14 days, and Silver Oak's allow 3 days from the wager, with replies within 28 days.
Don't deposit again to speed up a payout. A request for more money to release a withdrawal is a red flag in itself.
Casino closures and US law: who can actually help
Federal law doesn't create a refund route for offshore balances. UIGEA targets payment processing for unlawful internet gambling and does not make placing a bet a federal crime for the player. Whether play is lawful turns on the law of your state, and only the seven licensing states run online casino regulators you can complain to about a licensed site.
Offshore licenses offer limited help at best. Curaçao's new gaming law took effect on December 24, 2024, and the Curaçao Gaming Authority (opens in a new tab) has since published a complaints policy (June 18, 2025) and ADR guidelines (September 8, 2025). None of our partners shows a Curaçao license on its own site, though third parties report one for some. Silver Oak's terms cite an Anjouan license. Our Curaçao license page explains what that badge does and doesn't mean.
This page explains the law as recorded. It isn't legal advice, and it doesn't tell you that playing offshore is legal or illegal where you live. Check your state's law.
How to protect your money before a casino closes
You can't control whether a brand shuts down, but you can control how much is sitting there when it does. A few habits keep the exposure small:
Treat a casino balance as money you've already spent on entertainment, not savings.
Withdraw winnings above your session budget instead of leaving them to play through.
Know the weekly cap before you deposit, and don't build a balance you'd need months to cash out.
Log in at least occasionally if you plan to keep an account, or close it on purpose.
Keep a simple record of deposits and withdrawals; it helps in any dispute and at tax time.
Partner casinos that publish their balance and payout rules
For a page about closures, we've shown the three partners whose own sites publish who runs them or how dormant balances and caps work: Silver Oak names its operator and license, while SlotoCash and Miami Club publish dormancy and withdrawal terms. They pay us commission, and our order is commercial. All three are offshore and not licensed by any US state, so check your state's law first.
Silver Oak Casino: $2,500 Welcome Bonus + 50 Free Spins, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply). Its own site advertises a different package, 100% on each of the first ten deposits up to $10,000 with no max withdrawal stated, and its offer page says 30x playthrough while its terms say 40x on slots (60x on table games and video poker). Deposits start at $30. Michigan's regulator named Silver Oak on April 9, 2025.
SlotoCash Casino: $6,000 Welcome Bonus + 60 Free Spins, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply). The casino's terms list $7,777 plus 300 spins over five deposits, a $20 minimum per bonus, 25x deposit plus bonus and no max cashout. Michigan's regulator named SlotoCash on October 8, 2026.
Miami Club Casino: $4,000 Bonus + 285 Bonus Games, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply). Its published package is smaller: up to $800 as 100% to $100 on each of the first eight deposits, at 20x deposit plus bonus with no cap stated. Section 1.6 of its Terms of Use (v2.1, September 28, 2026) lists the United States as a prohibited jurisdiction, while the site owner's affiliate program confirms US players are accepted, so confirm your eligibility at sign-up. It runs WGS (Wager Gaming) games, not RTG. Michigan's regulator named Miami Club on August 14, 2025.
Bonuses are slot-focused, and table games are often excluded or weighted lower. The terms shown at sign-up apply, and over time the house edge makes losses the likely result.
Ad21+ (18+ where allowed). Ranked by us in a commercial order; we earn commission from these links. Advertiser disclosure
These partners are offshore and not licensed by any US state. Check your state's law, keep balances low and withdraw regularly.
Silver Oak Casino#4 on our listBonus on 10 deposits
Published terms (casino terms): Silver Oak advertises a 100% match on each of its first ten deposits (up to $10,000 in total) with codes SILVEROAK1–10. Eligible games: Slots, keno, scratch cards (table games at 60x; many games excluded).
Who runs it: Primrose Media Limited, licensed in Anjouan (its terms). Regulator notes: Named in a Michigan Gaming Control Board cease-and-desist release, April 9, 2025.
21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $30. Wagering 30x on the offer page; 40x in the terms. Max cashout: None stated. Withdrawal cap From $2,500 / week. Terms source: casino terms. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.
SlotoCash Casino#1 on our listBiggest bonus on our list
Published terms (casino terms): SlotoCash advertises up to $7,777 + 300 spins over five deposits on its own site. Eligible games: Slots, keno and scratch cards (progressive jackpots excluded).
Who runs it: License not shown on its site; reported as a Deckmedia N.V. brand (Curaçao). Regulator notes: Named in a Michigan Gaming Control Board cease-and-desist release, October 8, 2026.
21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $20 per bonus. Wagering 25x deposit + bonus. Max cashout: None stated. Withdrawal cap $5,000 / week. Terms source: casino terms. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.
Published terms (casino terms): Miami Club advertises up to $800 over eight deposits on its own site. Its Terms of Use (v2.1) list the United States as prohibited; its affiliate program confirms US players are accepted, so confirm eligibility at sign-up. Eligible games: Slots, keno, scratch cards.
Who runs it: License not shown on its site; reported as a Deckmedia N.V. brand. Regulator notes: Named in a Michigan Gaming Control Board cease-and-desist release, August 14, 2025.
21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit Not stated. Wagering 20x deposit + bonus. Max cashout: None stated. Withdrawal cap $5,000 / week. Terms source: casino terms. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.
These casinos are offshore operators. They are not licensed or regulated by any US state, and state consumer protections do not apply. Check the law in your state before you play. Terms marked “reported” come from third-party reviews; the terms shown at sign-up apply.
21+ (18+ where allowed). Every casino game has a built-in house edge, so over time you should expect to lose what you stake. Set a budget before you play and stop when it’s gone: responsible gambling tools and free help. Gambling problem? Call or text 1-800-MY-RESET (1-800-697-3738).
Frequently asked questions
What happens to my money if an online casino shuts down?
It depends on the operator, because no US state protects balances at offshore casinos. If the brand pays out before closing, you'll receive money in weekly installments up to its cap; if it stops paying, there's no state fund or regulator to order a payout. At a state-licensed site, a regulator oversees the operator and you can contact it. See player protections offshore vs licensed for the full comparison and how to withdraw for the cash-out steps.
Can a state regulator get my money back from an offshore casino?
Usually not. Michigan's regulator says it cannot help players recover deposits from offshore sites, and Arizona's says unregulated sites sit outside its authority, so victims have little chance of recovering funds. Regulators can send cease-and-desist letters, but those order the casino to stop serving residents; they don't reclaim balances. Read can I get my money back from a casino for routes that sometimes work.
Why do casinos leave some states but not others?
Most exits follow a regulator's action in that state. Pulsz closed Arizona accounts on September 19, 2025 after an Arizona Department of Gaming letter, and several sweepstakes brands ended Sweeps Coin play in Illinois in 2026 after Illinois Gaming Board letters, according to third-party reports. Michigan has named five of our partners since April 2025. The pattern is explained on our cease-and-desist letters page.
What happens to a dormant casino account?
The casino can void or remove the balance under its own terms. SlotoCash voids balances after 12 consecutive months without login, restorable at management's discretion; Miami Club marks accounts inactive after 12 months and removes the real-money balance, reinstatable on request; Silver Oak may delete accounts inactive for two years after an email notice. Our dormant accounts guide covers how to avoid losing money this way.
How long would it take to withdraw a large balance before a closure?
Longer than most players expect, because of weekly caps. A $12,000 balance needs five weekly requests at a $2,500 cap, or three at $5,000. Where a $5,000 monthly cap also applies, as third parties report for Royal Ace and Slot Madness, the same balance takes three months. Check each casino's figures on our withdrawal limits page before you build a big balance.
Is a casino that rebrands the same company?
Sometimes, but you can't assume it. Fortune Coins rebranded to Fortune Wins in April 2026 under the same group, according to third-party reports, while Royal Ace is reported by LCB to have been sold twice. When a brand changes, read the new terms, check who now runs it and use only the address the casino gives you, not a lookalike. See what a mirror site is for the risks of copycat domains.
Can I do a chargeback if a casino closes with my money?
Only in narrow cases, and only for card payments. A chargeback is a dispute you raise with your card issuer over a specific charge, such as one you didn't authorize; it isn't designed to recover gambling balances or losses on bets you placed. Crypto payments generally can't be reversed at all, as the FTC warns. Our page on what a chargeback is explains when an issuer dispute is appropriate.
What should I do first if my casino stops paying?
Document everything, then escalate in writing. Screenshot your balance, history and the current terms; finish verification; request what the weekly cap allows; and raise a formal dispute within the casino's window, such as 14 days at SlotoCash. If that fails, work through our steps on how to complain about an online casino and never deposit more to release a payout.
What happens to a pending withdrawal if a casino closes?
A pending withdrawal is still the casino’s money until it’s paid, so if an offshore casino closes or stops paying, nothing forces it to complete the request. Pending sums can be large: Silver Oak’s terms let pending requests reach four times the weekly limit, which is $10,000 at the $2,500 base level. Its process also runs a 7–10 business day review before a 7–10 business day payment period. Keep pending amounts small by requesting what the cap allows each week and avoiding reversals. Our answers on why is my casino withdrawal pending and the pending period explain the timing.
What happens if Silver Oak Casino closes?
If Silver Oak closed, your claim would be against Primrose Media Limited under Anjouan law, not a US regulator. Its terms name that company, registration number 15804, in Mutsamudu, Anjouan, and make Anjouan’s law the governing law. Disputes go to support within 3 days of the wager, with replies within 28 days, and then to a Central Dispute System run by the software provider. No US state licenses Silver Oak, and Michigan named it as an illegal offshore operator in April 2025. Withdraw winnings regularly within its $2,500 weekly base limit. See is Silver Oak legit and Silver Oak withdrawals.
Can the Curaçao Gaming Authority help if an offshore casino closes?
Only for casinos it actually licenses, and none of our partners shows a Curaçao license on its own site. Curaçao’s new gaming law, the LOK, took effect December 24, 2024, and the Curaçao Gaming Authority now licenses operators directly, with an updated complaints policy from June 18, 2025 and ADR guidelines from September 8, 2025. By December 17, 2025 it had granted 604 provisional licenses. A badge on a casino’s footer isn’t proof, so check the license against the authority’s own records. Our Curaçao license page and what is a Curacao license answer explain what it covers.
What happens to my McLuck coins when it leaves Oklahoma?
McLuck’s terms of service (v2.6, October 14, 2026) say it stops Oklahoma operations on November 1, 2026, the date the state’s SB 1589 ban on dual-currency sweepstakes takes effect. No redemption window for Oklahoma players is published in those terms, so redeem eligible Sweeps Coins before the deadline and save your account history. A third-party review lists minimums of 75 SC for cash and 10 SC for gift cards. McLuck is run by B-Two Operations Limited in the Isle of Man, and no US state licenses it. See Oklahoma sweepstakes casinos and the McLuck review.
What happened when Bovada left West Virginia?
Bovada restricted West Virginia around July 15, 2024, after the West Virginia Lottery sent it a cease-and-desist letter on June 26, 2024, according to third-party reports. That’s a typical state exit: the brand stops serving one state rather than closing entirely, and players there have to cash out under its terms. Bovada has also received letters from Michigan, Colorado, Mississippi, Massachusetts, Louisiana and others. Its operator, Harp Media B.V., isn’t licensed by any US state. West Virginia does license real-money online casinos through its Lottery. Read the Bovada review and our cease-and-desist letters explainer.
We use no tracking cookies. We store one item in your browser to remember this notice. Casino sites may set their own cookies after you follow an advert link. Cookie policy