21+ Gambling problem? Call or text 1-800-MY-RESET. Offers are for new players 21+ (18+ where allowed); terms apply.
Best USACasinosTop casinos

Decode vs Bovada: side by side

Decode vs Bovada is a contrast between a young brand with little public record and an old one with a long list of state cease-and-desist letters. Bovada publishes clearer bonus and crypto terms but restricts 20 states plus DC; Decode publishes less, yet carries a larger offer through our link. Neither is licensed by any US state.

Key takeaways

  • Bovada has drawn state actions from Michigan, Washington, Massachusetts, Florida, Minnesota and others; Decode isn’t among the Michigan actions on our record.
  • Bovada’s help pages exclude 20 states plus DC, including Michigan, Ohio and Pennsylvania.
  • Bovada spreads its welcome match over three deposits at 25x then 50x; Decode’s offer via our link is $5,000 + 50 free spins.
  • Bovada publishes crypto minimums from $10; Decode’s reported Bitcoin minimum is $100 with a weekly cap.
  • Both are offshore, so check your state’s law before you sign up anywhere.
Bovada operator
Harp Media B.V. (named by Michigan regulator)
Decode operator
Not disclosed
Bovada restricted states
20 states plus DC (its help page)
Decode restricted states
MD, NJ, NY, WA (reported)
Bovada crypto welcome
125% up to $1,250 x 3 deposits
Decode offer via our link
$5,000 + 50 free spins

Decode vs Bovada in one minute

Pick Bovada only if you live outside its long restricted list and you value detailed, published crypto and bonus rules. Pick Decode Casino if you want a slot-first lobby and the larger package via our link, knowing that Decode tells you very little about who runs it. In both cases you’re dealing with an offshore company, not a state-licensed operator.

Decode vs Bovada summary
PointDecodeBovada
Who runs itNot stated on its siteHarp Media B.V., Curaçao (per Michigan regulator)
License claimNone shown; Curaçao per third partiesUnion of the Comoros and Central Reserve Authority of Western Sahara (its terms)
State actions on recordNot among the Michigan actions on our recordAt least eight states, 2024–2026
Restricted US areas4 states (reported)20 states plus DC (its help page)
Welcome offer$5,000 + 50 free spins via our linkUp to $3,750 crypto or $3,000 card over 3 deposits
Lowest crypto withdrawal$100 Bitcoin (third-party)$10 on Litecoin and others (its pages)

This page is one of many on our casino comparisons hub, which applies the same checks to every matchup.

Bovada’s state regulator record vs Decode’s

No offshore brand has a longer enforcement trail in our record than Bovada. The Michigan Gaming Control Board sent a cease-and-desist letter to Bovada’s operator (opens in a new tab) in May 2024, naming Harp Media B.V. as the company behind Bovada.com and Bovada.lv. Other states followed over the next two years.

State actions naming Bovada
DateState and regulatorSource type
May 29, 2024Michigan Gaming Control BoardRegulator release
June 4, 2024Colorado cease-and-desistNews report
June 26, 2024West Virginia Lottery; Bovada restricted WV around July 15, 2024News report
July 24, 2024Mississippi Gaming Commission (notice spells it “Bovado”)Regulator notice
October 3, 2024Massachusetts Attorney GeneralState release
2024Pennsylvania, Kansas and Louisiana regulators (dates not given)News reports
February 3, 2025Florida Gaming Control CommissionState source
June 17, 2025Mississippi orders naming bovada.lvNews report
September 19, 2025Washington State Gambling Commission (second notice)Regulator release
November 5, 2025Minnesota Attorney General lettersState source
February 4, 2026Illinois Gaming Board letter to Bovada-linked JuicyPopSlotsRegulator letter

The Massachusetts letter, per the Attorney General’s release (opens in a new tab), demanded refunds and said “USA-based” claims broke the state’s consumer protection law. Washington’s second notice to Bovada.lv (opens in a new tab) cited state statutes including RCW 9.46.240. One brand file dates the Massachusetts letter only as “before October 4, 2024”; the state’s own record gives October 3.

Decode isn’t among the Michigan actions on our record, and we hold no other state action naming it. Its short history (reviewers date its launch to 2024) may explain part of that. Our page on cease-and-desist letters explains what these letters do and don’t mean for players.

Ownership and licensing: Harp Media vs an undisclosed operator

Bovada’s own terms don’t name a legal entity. They say it is “licensed and regulated by the Union of the Comoros and the Central Reserve Authority of Western Sahara,” with no license number. The name Harp Media B.V. comes from Michigan’s regulator, and the Massachusetts record adds Hove Media.

Decode’s footer gives only a copyright line. Third-party reviewers say it holds a Curaçao license, though one notes it couldn’t find licensing details and none gives a number. VegasSlotsOnline (opens in a new tab) lists the Curaçao Gaming Control Board.

So on disclosure the two are closer than their reputations suggest: Bovada makes a license claim without a number, and Decode makes none at all. Our explainer on player protections offshore vs licensed shows what a state license adds that neither brand offers.

Bovada’s 20 restricted states vs Decode’s reported four

Bovada’s help page lists Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, DC, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont and West Virginia. Its terms, updated January 3, 2024, give the same codes. Many entries track the states that sent letters.

Decode publishes no list we can read. VegasSlotsOnline reports that it refuses Maryland, New Jersey, New York and Washington. That shorter list is a third-party report, not a promise, so check the sign-up page.

Where each brand says or is reported to refuse players
StateDecode (reported)Bovada (its help page)
MarylandRefusedRefused
New JerseyRefusedRefused
New YorkRefusedRefused
WashingtonRefusedNot listed
MichiganNot listedRefused
PennsylvaniaNot listedRefused
OhioNot listedRefused

A casino taking sign-ups from your state says nothing about whether your state allows it. Players in Michigan and Washington, for example, live under regulators that call offshore sites illegal. See our states hub for your own state.

Decode vs Bovada bonus: one package vs three deposits

Decode Casino: $5,000 Welcome Bonus + 50 Free Spins, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply). Decode’s own homepage advertised a “$111 Free Chip + Crypto Bonus” on October 28, 2026, and VegasSlotsOnline describes a 500% match plus 50 free spins on Johnny Cash at 30x. Those packages differ from ours, so the terms shown when you register are what count.

Bovada’s welcome page splits its offer across your first three deposits. Crypto players get 125% up to $1,250 each time ($3,750 in total) with codes BTCCWB1250 and then BTC2NDCWB; wagering is 25x on the first and 50x on the second and third. Card players get 100% up to $1,000 each time ($3,000 in total) with codes CAWELCOME100 and then BV2NDCWB at 25x. Codes change, so confirm them on the site.

Welcome terms side by side
TermDecode (third-party unless noted)Bovada (its promo page)
StructureSingle code-based match; varies by codeThree deposits
Largest reported match400% (EASY25CODE)125% crypto, 100% card
Wagering25x–35x on deposit + bonus25x, then 50x on deposits 2 and 3 (crypto)
Minimum deposit$25Not stated in our record
Max cashoutNone reported on EASY25CODENot stated in our record
Validity90 daysNot stated in our record

Both welcome packages are built for slots. Table games are often excluded or weighted lower, so check before you play them with bonus money; our bonus game weighting guide explains the effect.

Bigger match, bigger bill: Decode vs Bovada wagering in dollars

Large matches look generous but carry large wagering totals, and every dollar wagered costs the house edge on average. Here is the arithmetic for a $100 first deposit, using an illustrative 4% slot edge (96% RTP).

  1. Decode with the reported EASY25CODE (400%, 35x on deposit + bonus): $100 + $400 = $500 balance; $500 × 35 = $17,500 to wager; expected cost $17,500 × 4% = $700.
  2. Decode with the reported DECODE111 (111%, 25x): $100 + $111 = $211; $211 × 25 = $5,275; expected cost about $211.
  3. Bovada crypto first deposit (125%, 25x): $100 + $125. If 25x applies to the bonus only, that’s $3,125 to wager and about $125 expected cost; if it applies to deposit plus bonus, $5,625 and about $225.
  4. Bovada second crypto deposit of $100 at 50x: $125 bonus × 50 = $6,250 at minimum, or about $250 expected cost.

The 400% code’s expected cost of $700 is larger than the $500 balance it creates, so most players would run out before finishing. The smaller DECODE111 code and Bovada’s first-deposit match cost far less to clear. Our low wagering bonus guide and the wagering requirement glossary entry explain why multiplier and base matter more than the headline.

Crypto at Decode vs Bovada: coins, minimums and speed

Bovada’s help pages list Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDT, Litecoin, Bitcoin Cash, Bitcoin SV and Bitcoin Lightning. Withdrawals go through a review of about 24–48 hours, then Bitcoin arrives within 24 hours, other coins within about an hour and vouchers in about 24 hours. Minimums are $75 for Bitcoin, $50 for Ethereum and USDT, and $10 for Litecoin, Bitcoin Cash, Bitcoin SV and Lightning.

Decode, per third-party listings, takes Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash, Ethereum and Litecoin for deposits, with a $5 Lightning minimum and $10 for Litecoin and Bitcoin Cash. For withdrawals, one reviewer lists Bitcoin only, at a $100 minimum and about 48 hours.

Crypto withdrawal minimums
CoinDecode (third-party)Bovada (its help pages)
Bitcoin$100$75
EthereumNot reported for withdrawal$50
USDTNot listed$50
LitecoinNot reported for withdrawal$10
Bitcoin LightningDeposit only reported$10

Our Bitcoin casinos page and Litecoin casinos page explain network fees and confirmation times that sit on top of what any casino quotes.

Weekly caps and fees: where Decode looks weaker on paper

Decode’s reported weekly withdrawal cap is the clearest drawback in this comparison. One reviewer’s listing gives $2,500 a week for Bitcoin and wire and $3,000 for check, while the same reviewer’s text and VegasSlotsOnline say $5,000. Reported fees are $50 for wire and $30 for check, and processing counts business days only.

We hold no weekly cap or fee schedule for Bovada, so we can’t say it has none. On a $10,000 balance, Decode would need four weeks at $2,500 or two weeks at $5,000. See Decode withdrawals, Bovada withdrawals and our explainer on weekly withdrawal limits.

Slot lobbies and software at Decode vs Bovada

Decode’s site description promotes “300+ RTG slots” and Star Trek-branded games, which makes RealTime Gaming its anchor studio. Reviewers add Rival, Betsoft, Belatra, Mascot, BGaming and others, with lobby sizes reported between “over 1,000” and about 2,700. Johnny Cash and Fat Ca$h are titles reviewers name. Whether it has live dealers is disputed.

Bovada’s software providers aren’t in our record, so we can’t compare lobbies title by title. Check each casino’s game list for the slots you actually play; our best RTG casinos list shows where RTG titles are reported.

Account checks, support and mobile play

Third-party reviews say Decode asks for photo ID, proof of address, proof of payment ownership and a selfie with ID, usually reviewed within 0–2 days. Users on Trustpilot report repeated document rejection, so send clear files the first time. Bovada’s KYC rules aren’t in our record.

Decode runs as instant play in the phone browser with no app and offers 24/7 live chat, email and scheduled calls, though members report gaps with no agent online. Bovada’s app and support details aren’t in our record.

  1. Read the restricted-state list and terms before registering.
  2. Register with your real name and address; mismatches delay payouts.
  3. Verify your account before the first withdrawal, not after.
  4. Withdraw in amounts that fit under any weekly cap.
  5. Keep screenshots of your balance and every support reply.

Our guide to verifying a casino account has a full document checklist.

State law and Decode vs Bovada: what applies to you

Neither brand is licensed by any US state. Seven states license real-money online casinos, and players there have state-licensed choices with state protection. Everywhere else, state law decides, and some states, as Bovada’s record shows, actively pursue offshore operators.

Federal law doesn’t make placing a bet a crime for the player: UIGEA targets payment processing, as our UIGEA explainer sets out. For your state’s position, start with is it illegal to play at offshore casinos.

Decode or Bovada? Picks for different players

Best fit by player type
If you…Lean towardReason
Live in MI, OH, PA or another Bovada-restricted stateNeither without checking your lawBovada refuses you; Decode is offshore too
Want low crypto withdrawal minimumsBovada$10 on several coins
Mainly play RTG slotsDecodeRTG-led lobby
Want the biggest single welcome packageDecode$5,000 + 50 free spins via our link
Worry about regulator attentionRead both records firstBovada’s is long; Decode’s is short and thin

We earn a commission from partner sign-ups and order partners commercially, which is why only Decode has an offer box here. See also SlotoCash vs Bovada and Decode vs Planet 7.

Decode bonus via our link: terms and reminders

Decode is our partner in this matchup. Decode Casino: $5,000 Welcome Bonus + 50 Free Spins, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply). Third-party reviewers report 25x–35x wagering on deposit plus bonus and a $25 minimum deposit for its match codes, with a $200 max cashout on one free-spins code. The site may show a different package, and the terms at sign-up apply.

Decode is offshore and not licensed by any US state, so read your state’s law before you deposit. Without a state regulator, disputes go through the casino alone, balances have no state backing, and the house edge means losing is the likely result over time. Players must be 21+ (18+ where allowed).

Need to talk to someone? The National Problem Gambling Helpline is 1-800-MY-RESET (1-800-697-3738), with text and chat through the National Council on Problem Gambling (opens in a new tab). Our deposit limits page explains how to cap your spending.

Ad21+ (18+ where allowed). Ranked by us in a commercial order; we earn commission from these links. Advertiser disclosure

Only Decode has an offer via our links on this page. Bovada is compared for information and has no offer box.

Decode Casino #3 on our listCrypto bonuses

$5,000 Welcome Bonus + 50 Free Spins

  • WageringVaries by code (25x–35x reported)
  • Min deposit$25 (reported)
  • Max cashoutVaries by code
  • Withdrawals$2,500 / week (reported)
Claim bonus21+. New players. Terms apply.Decode review
Key terms, license and regulator notes

Published terms (reported): Decode advertises a $111 free chip and crypto bonuses on its own site; deposit-bonus codes and terms vary. Eligible games: Mainly slots; check each code.

Who runs it: License not shown on its site; third parties report Curaçao. Regulator notes: Third parties report it refuses players in MD, NJ, NY and WA.

21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $25 (reported). Wagering Varies by code (25x–35x reported). Max cashout: Varies by code. Withdrawal cap $2,500 / week (reported). Terms source: reported. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.

These casinos are offshore operators. They are not licensed or regulated by any US state, and state consumer protections do not apply. Check the law in your state before you play. Terms marked “reported” come from third-party reviews; the terms shown at sign-up apply.

21+ (18+ where allowed). Every casino game has a built-in house edge, so over time you should expect to lose what you stake. Set a budget before you play and stop when it’s gone: responsible gambling tools and free help. Gambling problem? Call or text 1-800-MY-RESET (1-800-697-3738).

Frequently asked questions

Is Decode better than Bovada?

Decode suits slot players who want a large welcome package, while Bovada publishes clearer crypto rules but restricts 20 states plus DC. Bovada also has a long record of state cease-and-desist letters; Decode isn’t among the Michigan actions on our record. Both are offshore and unlicensed by any state, so the better choice depends on your state and priorities. See our full Decode review and Bovada review.

Why can’t I sign up at Bovada in my state?

Bovada’s help page excludes 20 states plus DC, so it blocks sign-ups from them. The list includes Michigan, Pennsylvania, Ohio, New Jersey, New York, Massachusetts and West Virginia, many of which sent it cease-and-desist letters. Using any workaround to get past a block breaks the terms and can cost you your balance. Our states hub explains the law where you live, and the is Bovada legit page covers the background.

Has Decode Casino received a cease-and-desist letter?

Decode isn’t among the Michigan actions on our record, and we hold no other state action naming it. That doesn’t mean it has state approval; it is still an offshore casino that no US state licenses. Decode only launched in 2024, per reviewers, so its record is short. See our is Decode legit page and the guide to cease-and-desist letters.

Which has the better welcome bonus, Decode or Bovada?

Decode’s headline is larger: a $5,000 Welcome Bonus + 50 Free Spins via our link for new players aged 21+ (18+ where allowed), terms apply. Bovada offers up to $3,750 in crypto matches over three deposits, at 25x then 50x wagering. Bigger matches usually mean more wagering, so compare the dollar cost, not the banner. Our match bonus guide shows how.

What are Bovada’s bonus codes?

Bovada’s welcome page lists BTCCWB1250 for the first crypto deposit and BTC2NDCWB for later ones, and CAWELCOME100 then BV2NDCWB for card deposits. These were published on its promotions page in October 2026, and codes change without notice, so confirm them before depositing. Bovada isn’t a partner, so we don’t carry its offer. For how codes work in general, see bonus codes explained and our Bovada bonus page.

How fast does Bovada pay compared with Decode?

Bovada publishes the more detailed timeline. Its help pages say withdrawals are reviewed in about 24–48 hours, then Bitcoin arrives within 24 hours and other coins within about an hour. Third parties report Decode’s Bitcoin payouts at around 48 business-day hours with a weekly cap of $2,500 or $5,000. Verification can delay either. Our page on why withdrawals stay pending explains common holdups.

Is Bovada licensed?

Bovada’s terms say it is licensed and regulated by the Union of the Comoros and the Central Reserve Authority of Western Sahara, but no license number is given. Michigan’s regulator named Harp Media B.V., a Curaçao company, as its operator. No US state licenses Bovada, and several have ordered it to stop serving residents. Our Curaçao license explainer and state regulators guide give context.

Can I use Litecoin at Decode and Bovada?

Yes for deposits at both, per the published and reported lists. Bovada also lists Litecoin for withdrawals with a $10 minimum. Third-party reviewers say Decode takes Litecoin deposits from $10 but one lists Bitcoin as its only withdrawal coin, so plan to cash out in Bitcoin there. Network fees apply on top. See our Litecoin casinos page and Decode Bitcoin and crypto page.

Can Ohio players use Bovada or Decode?

Bovada's help page lists Ohio among its 20 restricted states, so it refuses Ohio sign-ups. Decode isn't reported to refuse Ohio, but some third-party reports say certain offshore brands do, so check the sign-up page rather than assume. Either way, Ohio licenses no online casinos; the Ohio Casino Control Commission oversees land casinos, racinos and online sports betting, legal since January 1, 2023. An offshore site taking your sign-up isn't the same as Ohio allowing it. Our Ohio gambling laws page explains the state's position.

Which has more slots, Decode or Bovada?

Decode is the better-documented slot casino of the two. Its own site promotes "300+ RTG slots" and Star Trek-branded games, and third-party reviewers report lobbies from over 1,000 to about 2,700 games across dozens of studios, though one says US players can't access several of them. Bovada's software providers and game counts aren't in our record, so no fair count comparison is possible. Check each lobby for the titles you actually play. Our Decode slots page lists the games reviewers name.

Do Decode and Bovada have mobile apps?

Decode runs as instant play in a phone browser with no app, according to its own site description and a third-party reviewer. Bovada's app status isn't in our record, so check its site rather than trusting a store listing. Be cautious with any download claiming to be either casino, because copycat apps can collect logins and payment details. Browser play works on most phones without installing anything. Our Decode mobile page covers how its browser version works on iPhone and Android.

Does Decode or Bovada have a weekly withdrawal cap?

Decode does, according to third-party reviewers, although they disagree on the figure. One listing gives $2,500 a week for Bitcoin and wire and $3,000 for check, while the same reviewer's text and VegasSlotsOnline say $5,000. On a $10,000 balance, that means four weeks or two. No weekly cap or fee schedule for Bovada is in our record, which isn't proof it has none. Ask either casino's support in writing before a large request. Our guide to weekly withdrawal limits explains how caps work.

Is Bovada safe after so many cease-and-desist letters?

The letters show that regulators in states such as Michigan, Massachusetts and Washington consider Bovada an illegal operator for their residents; they don't say whether it pays players. The Massachusetts Attorney General's letter also demanded refunds and said Bovada's "USA-based" claims broke state consumer law. What's certain is that Bovada, like Decode, has no US state license, so neither offers state-backed protection or a state complaint route. Our answer on whether offshore casinos are safe explains what that means.

Sources