21+ Gambling problem? Call or text 1-800-MY-RESET. Offers are for new players 21+ (18+ where allowed); terms apply.
Best USACasinosTop casinos

Free spins meaning

Free spins meaning: the term covers two different things. A promotional free spin is a slot spin the casino pays for, at a fixed bet size, on a named game, with wagering on any winnings. An in-game free spin is a bonus round a slot triggers itself, played at your current stake. Both cost you nothing per spin, but only the first comes with bonus rules.

Key takeaways

  • Promotional free spins are paid for by the casino; in-game free spins are a slot feature.
  • 50 spins at $0.25 means $12.50 of stakes, worth about $12 in winnings on average at 96% RTP.
  • Winnings from promo spins usually carry wagering and often a max cashout.
  • Spins are tied to a named slot and a fixed bet, so check both before you claim.
Two meanings
Casino promotion or slot bonus feature
Spin value
Fixed by the casino, often $0.10 to $1
Winnings paid as
Bonus credit with wagering
Games
One named slot or a short list
Common add-on
Part of a match welcome bonus

Free spins meaning: promotion vs slot feature

When a casino advertises "50 free spins", it means a promotion: 50 spins on a chosen slot at a stake the casino sets, with your winnings added as bonus credit. When a slot review mentions free spins, it usually means a bonus round the game triggers, often from three or more scatter symbols.

RTG's Sweet 16 is one example of a slot with an in-game free spins round, and Cash Bandits 3 is another, with a vault feature that third-party specs say can award many extra spins. Those spins play at your current bet and their wins go to your normal balance. This entry focuses on the promotional kind; the casino glossary covers slot features in more depth.

What free spins are worth in dollars

The value of a free spins offer depends on the spin size and the slot's RTP. Multiply the number of spins by the stake to get the total amount bet, then by RTP for the average return. The table uses 50 spins and a 96% RTP.

50 promotional free spins at different spin values
Spin valueTotal stakedAverage winnings at 96%Wagering at 40x on winningsExpected cost of that wagering at 4%
$0.10$5.00$4.80$192$7.68
$0.25$12.50$12.00$480$19.20
$1.00$50.00$48.00$1,920$76.80

In every row the expected cost of the wagering is larger than the average winnings, so most spin offers end with little or nothing withdrawable. Wins vary a lot, though, and a rare big hit is what gives them appeal. Our page on free spins winnings goes further.

Free spins rules to check before you claim

  • Which slot the spins are for, and whether you can choose.
  • The value of each spin, which is often not shown in the headline.
  • Wagering on winnings, and whether it's on winnings only or a larger base.
  • A max cashout on spin winnings, such as $200.
  • The time limit to use the spins and to finish wagering.

Third-party reviews of Decode, for example, report a no-deposit code for 50 spins on an RTG slot at 40x with a $200 max cashout and a $10 max bet. SlotoCash's own site (opens in a new tab) ties each welcome deposit to spins on a named game, such as Charms of the Forest or Egyptian Gold.

How to claim casino free spins

  1. Read the offer's terms for the slot, spin value and expiry.
  2. Make any qualifying deposit and enter a code if one is required.
  3. Open the named slot; spins usually appear automatically or in a bonus tab.
  4. Play the spins, then check your bonus balance for the winnings.
  5. Meet the wagering on eligible games before requesting a withdrawal.

No deposit free spins vs deposit free spins

No-deposit spins come without paying in, but they're usually low value and tightly capped; see our no deposit bonus meaning entry. Deposit spins come attached to a match bonus and are often more numerous. Either way, spins are slot-only. Compare current offers on our best free spins casinos list.

Free spins at partner casinos: spins, slots and wagering compared

Free spins offers differ more in their fine print than in their headline numbers. The table sets out what each partner publishes or what third-party reviews report, separate from the headline offer via our links, which may differ. Codes and packages change, so check the cashier before you deposit.

Free spins published or reported at partner casinos
CasinoSpins and packageNamed slotsWagering and limitsSource
SlotoCash300 spins across five deposits ($7,777 package)Charms of the Forest, Egyptian Gold, Sweet 16, Sweet 16 Blast, Sweet Shop Collect25x deposit + bonus; $10 max betCasino terms
Decode50 no-deposit spins; separately 500% + 50 spinsRTG 777; Johnny Cash40x, $200 cap, $10 max bet; 30xThird-party reviews
Silver OakNew-member page lists no spins; one review headline shows 260% + 35 spinsNot published30x or 40x (pages conflict)Casino pages, LCB
Royal Ace250% up to $2,500 + 35 spinsNot verifiedNot showncasino.guru (third-party)
Slot MadnessUnlimited 275% + 50 spinsNot statedNot stated with the spinscasino.guru (third-party)

Two patterns stand out. Spins at these casinos come bundled with deposit matches far more often than on their own, and at SlotoCash the wagering applies to deposit plus bonus rather than to spin winnings alone. SlotoCash’s promotions page also lists rotating reloads that pair a match with 50 to 119 spins at 25x to 30x. For the slot behind several of these spins, read our Sweet 16 review, and compare full packages on the welcome bonus page.

Free spins offers via our links

These three casinos are offshore and not licensed or regulated by any US state, so there's no state body to hear a complaint about missing spins or capped winnings. Check your state's law first; our guide to offshore vs state-licensed casinos explains the difference.

Silver Oak Casino: $2,500 Welcome Bonus + 50 Free Spins, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply). The casino's new-member page (opens in a new tab) describes a different 100% match on ten deposits with no free spins, at 30x (60x on blackjack and video poker) and no max withdrawal; its terms say 40x on slots. The terms shown at sign-up apply. Silver Oak names an Anjouan license (Primrose Media Limited), and Michigan named it on April 9, 2025. See Silver Oak free spins.

Planet 7 Casino: $2,750 Welcome Bonus + 45 Free Spins, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply). Third-party reviews report a 200% welcome match at 30x (bonus + deposit) on slots with a $1,000 max cashout, and say Banana Jones and Fish Catch can't be played with coupon funds. No free-spin game is published, so check at sign-up. Michigan named Planet 7 on April 9, 2025.

Royal Ace Casino: $2,500 Welcome Bonus + 35 Free Spins, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply). Third-party reviews disagree: one reports 250% up to $2,500 + 35 spins, another 200% up to $4,000 at 30x on slots (60x blackjack and video poker) with max cashout of 10x the deposit. Check the current terms. See Royal Ace free spins.

Free spins are slot-only, and table games are often excluded or weighted lower when you wager the winnings. Help is free on 1-800-MY-RESET (1-800-697-3738).

Ad21+ (18+ where allowed). Ranked by us in a commercial order; we earn commission from these links. Advertiser disclosure

Offshore casinos not licensed by any US state; check your state's law. 21+ (18+ where allowed), terms apply.

Silver Oak Casino #4 on our listBonus on 10 deposits

$2,500 Welcome Bonus + 50 Free Spins

  • Wagering30x on the offer page; 40x in the terms
  • Min deposit$30
  • Max cashoutNone stated
  • WithdrawalsFrom $2,500 / week
Claim bonus21+. New players. Terms apply.Silver Oak review
Key terms, license and regulator notes

Published terms (casino terms): Silver Oak advertises a 100% match on each of its first ten deposits (up to $10,000 in total) with codes SILVEROAK1–10. Eligible games: Slots, keno, scratch cards (table games at 60x; many games excluded).

Who runs it: Primrose Media Limited, licensed in Anjouan (its terms). Regulator notes: Named in a Michigan Gaming Control Board cease-and-desist release, April 9, 2025.

21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $30. Wagering 30x on the offer page; 40x in the terms. Max cashout: None stated. Withdrawal cap From $2,500 / week. Terms source: casino terms. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.

Planet 7 Casino #5 on our listRealTime Gaming slots

$2,750 Welcome Bonus + 45 Free Spins

  • Wagering30x deposit + bonus (reported)
  • Min deposit$30 (reported)
  • Max cashout$1,000 (reported)
  • Withdrawals$2,500 / week (reported)
Claim bonus21+. New players. Terms apply.Planet 7 review
Key terms, license and regulator notes

Published terms (reported): Third-party reviews report a 200% match with code WELCOME200; the casino site could not be checked directly. Eligible games: Slots (reported).

Who runs it: License not shown; third parties report Costa Rica or none. Regulator notes: Named in a Michigan Gaming Control Board cease-and-desist release, April 9, 2025.

21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $30 (reported). Wagering 30x deposit + bonus (reported). Max cashout: $1,000 (reported). Withdrawal cap $2,500 / week (reported). Terms source: reported. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.

Royal Ace Casino #6 on our listSlots and specialty games

$2,500 Welcome Bonus + 35 Free Spins

  • Wagering30x deposit + bonus on slots (reported)
  • Min deposit$30 (reported)
  • Max cashout10x deposit (reported)
  • Withdrawals$2,500 / week (reported)
Claim bonus21+. New players. Terms apply.Royal Ace review
Key terms, license and regulator notes

Published terms (reported): Third-party reviews disagree on the package (200% up to $4,000, or 250% up to $2,500 + 35 spins); the casino site could not be checked directly. Eligible games: Slots and specialty games (reported).

Who runs it: License not shown; third parties report Costa Rica or none. Regulator notes: Third parties report it does not accept Ohio players.

21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $30 (reported). Wagering 30x deposit + bonus on slots (reported). Max cashout: 10x deposit (reported). Withdrawal cap $2,500 / week (reported). Terms source: reported. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.

These casinos are offshore operators. They are not licensed or regulated by any US state, and state consumer protections do not apply. Check the law in your state before you play. Terms marked “reported” come from third-party reviews; the terms shown at sign-up apply.

21+ (18+ where allowed). Every casino game has a built-in house edge, so over time you should expect to lose what you stake. Set a budget before you play and stop when it’s gone: responsible gambling tools and free help. Gambling problem? Call or text 1-800-MY-RESET (1-800-697-3738).

Frequently asked questions

What does free spins mean at an online casino?

It usually means a promotion where the casino pays for a set number of spins on a named slot at a fixed bet. Any winnings are added as bonus credit and must be wagered before withdrawal, often with a cap. In slot reviews, free spins can also mean a bonus round. Our free spins guide explains both.

Are free spins really free?

The spins cost nothing to play, but they're conditional. Many need a deposit, and the winnings carry wagering such as 40x and a max cashout such as $200. On average, the cost of that wagering exceeds the spin winnings, so expect little to withdraw. Our bonus terms red flags page lists the conditions to check.

How much is a free spin worth?

Each spin is worth its stake, set by the casino, commonly $0.10 to $1. Fifty spins at $0.25 means $12.50 bet, which at a 96% RTP returns about $12 on average before wagering. The headline often omits spin value, so look for it in the terms. See our how slot RTP works guide.

Can I withdraw free spins winnings?

Yes, but usually only after meeting the wagering on those winnings and within any cap. If spins win $20 and wagering is 40x, you need $800 in eligible bets first. Breaking a max-bet rule or playing excluded games can void the winnings. Read our free spins winnings page for common rules.

Can I use free spins on any slot?

Usually not. Promotional spins are tied to one named slot or a short list, and the casino sets the bet size. Using them elsewhere isn't possible, and some games are barred from bonus play entirely. Check the offer terms and the lobby, and see our best bonus for slots page for slot-friendly offers.

What is the difference between free spins and a free chip?

Free spins are a set number of spins on a named slot at a fixed stake. A free chip is a dollar amount of bonus credit you can spread across eligible games and bet sizes. Both carry wagering and caps. A chip gives more choice; spins are simpler. See our free chip meaning entry for detail.

Can I get free spins without making a deposit?

Yes, no-deposit free spins exist, but they’re rarer than deposit spins and come with tight limits. Third-party reviews of Decode, for example, report 50 no-deposit spins on RTG’s 777 slot with 40x wagering, a $200 max cashout and a $10 max bet. Most other partner spins are tied to a qualifying deposit, such as SlotoCash’s $20 minimum per welcome bonus. Treat any no-deposit spins as a low-cost look at a casino, not a likely payout. See the no-deposit bonus guide and Decode’s no-deposit page.

Do free spins expire?

Yes, free spins and the winnings they produce usually carry a deadline. SlotoCash’s general bonus terms set 90 days from redemption, and third-party reviews report the same 90-day validity at Decode, but many casinos give much less time to use the spins themselves. The headline rarely shows the deadline, so look for it in the promotion terms before you claim. Spins left unused or wagering left unfinished at the deadline are typically removed from your balance. Our bonus expiry page and guide on how to read casino terms show where to find it.

What should I do if my free spins weren’t credited?

If your free spins don’t appear, stop playing and contact support before you make another deposit. Many casinos only credit spins when the code is entered in the right order: SlotoCash’s terms say to redeem the coupon before depositing, or right after and before any wager, and to claim its welcome bonuses in sequence. Placing a bet first can mean the offer no longer applies. Save a screenshot of the promotion and a transcript of your chat. Our customer support guide and how to claim a casino bonus cover the steps.

Is there a max bet when wagering free spins winnings?

Yes, most casinos cap your stake while free spins winnings are still being wagered. SlotoCash’s welcome terms set $10 per spin while a bonus is active, and third-party reviews report the same $10 limit on Decode’s no-deposit spins. The spins themselves play at the value the casino sets, but once winnings land in your bonus balance, a bet over the cap can void them. SlotoCash lifts the max-bet rule only for its higher VIP tiers. See our bonus wagering requirements page and wagering requirement entry.

Do casino free spins work in a phone browser?

Yes, casino free spins at the partner casinos work in a phone browser, since none of them relies on a store app. SlotoCash’s site says no app or software is needed and suggests adding a home-screen shortcut, and Silver Oak’s mobile page describes browser play on iPhone, Android and tablets. Your spins sit on the account, not the device, so you can claim on a laptop and play on a phone. The named slot must be in the mobile lobby, so check before you deposit. See our mobile bonus page and playing on iPhone guide.

Are free spins winnings taxable?

Yes, money you withdraw from free spins winnings counts as gambling income for federal tax purposes. For 2026, IRS rules say casinos file a W-2G for slot winnings of $2,000 or more, but the income is reportable even below that threshold or when no form is issued. Offshore casinos follow their own practices, so keep your own records of deposits, bonuses and withdrawals. From the 2026 tax year, the loss deduction is reported to be capped at 90% of losses; check IRS guidance. Read our gambling taxes guide and keeping gambling records.

Can I claim online casino free spins legally in California?

No, California doesn’t license online casinos, so you can’t claim free spins from a state-licensed site there. Gambling in the state is overseen by the California Gambling Control Commission and the Department of Justice’s Bureau of Gambling Control, and land-based play happens at about 60 tribal casinos and 91 cardrooms. AB 831, effective January 1, 2026, also bans dual-currency sweepstakes casinos. Offshore casinos offering spins aren’t licensed by California. See can I play online casinos in California and our California page.

Sources