21+ Gambling problem? Call or text 1-800-MY-RESET. Offers are for new players 21+ (18+ where allowed); terms apply.
Best USACasinosTop casinos

Real money online casinos in North Carolina

Real money online casinos North Carolina players can reach are all offshore, because the state licenses online sports betting but no online casinos. Its regulator says wagering outside legal channels is illegal. If you’re weighing it anyway, this page covers the money side in dollars: how deposits work, what weekly and monthly caps mean, the payout delays reviewers report and how winnings are taxed.

NC No state-licensed online casinos · North Carolina guide

Key takeaways

  • North Carolina licenses online sportsbooks, not online casinos; offshore sites have no state oversight.
  • Royal Ace and Slot Madness are reported to cap withdrawals at $2,500 a week and $5,000 a month.
  • Third-party reviewers report slow payouts at both, from about 10 business days to over a month.
  • Card deposits can be declined by US banks; Bitcoin is the most widely listed alternative.
  • Winnings are taxable federal income; slot wins of $2,000+ are W-2G reportable in 2026.
Online casinos
Not legal
Regulator
NC State Lottery Commission (sports wagering)
Legal online betting
Sports betting, 7 licensed operators
Sports betting age
21
Largest cities
Charlotte, Raleigh, Greensboro
State helpline
877-718-5543

No. North Carolina hasn’t authorized online casino games, and the State Lottery Commission’s sports wagering site (opens in a new tab) says “Wagering outside these legal channels is not only unsafe—it is also illegal.” The only real-money online betting the state licenses is sports wagering through seven approved operators, live since March 2024.

Players in Charlotte, Raleigh, Greensboro and elsewhere will still see offshore casinos advertising real-money slots. Those sites hold, at most, a license from a jurisdiction such as Costa Rica, Anjouan or Curaçao, which carries no weight under North Carolina law. Our North Carolina gambling laws page sets out each form of gambling the state allows, and the North Carolina hub covers the rest.

Federal law adds a payment layer. Under UIGEA’s payment rule (opens in a new tab), gambling businesses can’t accept cards, transfers or checks tied to internet gambling that’s unlawful where the bet is placed. It’s aimed at operators, not players, but it explains much of what follows about declined cards.

What playing for real money offshore means in practice

The legal status shapes the money experience. With a state-licensed sportsbook, a North Carolina regulator sets rules on payouts and handles complaints. Offshore, the casino’s own terms are the only rulebook, and those terms can change.

State-licensed sportsbook vs offshore casino, for a North Carolina player
IssueLicensed NC sportsbookOffshore casino
Who sets the rulesState law and the commissionThe casino’s terms
Complaint routeThe commissionCasino support or third-party forums
Balance protectionState requirementsNone from any US state
Payout limitsSet by the operator under state rulesWeekly and monthly caps the casino sets
LicensingNorth CarolinaOffshore at most; often disputed

Our comparison of player protections offshore vs licensed goes through each difference.

Deposits at real money casinos from North Carolina

Third-party reviews list the same broad cashier at Royal Ace and Slot Madness: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, several cryptocurrencies, bank transfer and check. LCB reports minimums of $30 for cards and $5 for Lightning Bitcoin at both.

Reported deposit options (third-party reviews, checked October 28, 2026)
MethodRoyal AceSlot MadnessReported minimum
Visa, Mastercard, Amex, DiscoverListedListed$30
Bitcoin (Lightning)ListedListed$5
Ethereum, Litecoin, Tether, Dogecoin, RippleListedListedNot stated
Bitcoin Cash, Binance CoinListedListedNot stated
Bank transfer, checkListedListedNot stated

Card deposits often fail for US players. Card networks code gambling as merchant category 7995, and many US banks decline those transactions by default or treat credit card gambling as a cash advance with fees. The card declines page explains why. Crypto avoids that block, but crypto transfers generally can’t be reversed, so a mistaken address or a dispute can’t be undone through your bank. Read how to deposit with Bitcoin before trying it, or see our North Carolina crypto casinos page.

Withdrawals: caps, times and fees reported for North Carolina players

Withdrawal terms are where these two casinos differ most from a licensed operator. Neither casino’s own site could be checked for this page, so everything here is as third-party reviewers report it.

Reported withdrawal terms (third-party reviews)
TermRoyal AceSlot Madness
MethodsBank wire, check, BitcoinBank wire, check, Bitcoin, Litecoin
Minimum$20 (LCB)$20 (LCB, esports.gg)
Weekly cap$2,500$2,500
Monthly cap$5,000$5,000
FeesNone (AskGamblers)None (AskGamblers)
Pending period7–10 days (AskGamblers)7–10 days (AskGamblers)
Bank transfer time10–14 days (AskGamblers)10–14 days (AskGamblers)

Neteller appears on reviewers’ withdrawal lists for both, but LCB says it isn’t available to US players. Reported times also conflict: AskGamblers gives 7–10 days pending plus 10–14 days for bank transfers, LCB says payouts are “usually issued after a month+”, and esports.gg says Slot Madness crypto payouts are typically processed within minutes. Treat the slowest figure as a realistic planning number.

What a $5,000 monthly cap does to an $8,000 win

Suppose an $8,000 balance. With a $2,500 weekly and $5,000 monthly cap, the first two weeks pay $2,500 each and the monthly limit is reached. The remaining $3,000 waits for the next month: $2,500 one week and $500 the next. That’s four payments spread across two calendar months, before adding any processing delay. See our withdrawal limits explainer for how casinos count the month.

Payout complaints and regulator actions on record

Reviewers flag both brands. LCB lists Royal Ace and Slot Madness under a warning for poor support and slow payment, and AskGamblers marks both as terminated on its own complaints service. casino.guru’s examples include delayed withdrawals of $1,250 and $1,200 at Royal Ace and $2,500 and $2,300 at Slot Madness, plus $1,300 in confiscated winnings at Slot Madness. These are individual complaints, not findings by any regulator.

Regulators in other states have acted. The Michigan Gaming Control Board ordered Slot Madness to halt services in its August 14, 2025 release (opens in a new tab), describing the operators as illegal. Royal Ace hasn’t appeared in any of the Michigan releases on record. As of October 2026, there’s no record of a North Carolina action against either brand.

Licensing reports conflict too. For Royal Ace, AskGamblers lists Costa Rica while casino.guru and LCB say no license. For Slot Madness, one review says Anjouan, AskGamblers says Costa Rica, and casino.guru and LCB say none. Reported operators range from Primrose Media Limited to Ace Revenue Group. The Costa Rica casino license page explains what such claims are worth.

Verification before your first real money withdrawal

Both casinos verify documents before paying out, with LCB reporting a 0–3 day turnaround by email. A specific document list isn’t published for either, so plan for the standard set. The KYC documents page explains each one.

  1. Register with your legal name, date of birth and home address exactly as they appear on your ID.
  2. Prepare a government photo ID, a utility bill or bank statement from the last three months, and proof of your payment method.
  3. Send the documents to the casino’s documents email before you request a withdrawal.
  4. Ask support to confirm in writing that the account is verified and which weekly cap applies.
  5. Request the withdrawal on a weekday and keep every confirmation email.

What real money play costs per hour

Every casino game has a house edge, so losses are the likely result over time. Expected loss equals total stake multiplied by the house edge. As an illustration, a slot with a 96% RTP has a 4% edge; at $1 a spin and 500 spins an hour, that’s $500 staked and about $20 expected loss per hour. Individual sessions swing far above or below that, but the average doesn’t change.

Set the budget before depositing, not after. Our house edge explainer shows the math for slots and table games.

Taxes on real money casino winnings in North Carolina

Gambling winnings are taxable federal income even if an offshore casino never sends a form. The IRS’s Form W-2G instructions (opens in a new tab) set a $2,000 reporting threshold for slot winnings paid in 2026, and the 24% regular gambling withholding doesn’t apply to slots. From the 2026 tax year, the federal loss deduction is reported to be capped at 90% of losses and only up to your winnings; check IRS guidance.

  • Keep a log of every deposit, withdrawal and session result.
  • Save cashier histories and crypto wallet records as backup.
  • North Carolina’s own income tax treatment isn’t covered in the sources reviewed; check with the state Department of Revenue.

Read what a W-2G is and our gambling taxes page for record-keeping tips.

Keeping real money play in check

If deposits are growing or you’re chasing a pending withdrawal, pause. North Carolina’s More Than A Game (opens in a new tab) program takes calls at 877-718-5543 and texts at morethanagamenc to 53342. The National Problem Gambling Helpline is 1-800-MY-RESET (1-800-697-3738), with call, text and chat through the NCPG help and treatment page (opens in a new tab). Blocking tools such as Gamban and BetBlocker can also keep gambling sites off your devices.

Real money online casinos North Carolina readers can compare

The two casinos below are offshore and not licensed by North Carolina or any US state. North Carolina’s regulator says wagering outside its legal channels is illegal, so read the state’s law first; delayed or refused payouts can’t be taken to a state regulator, and the payout reports above apply. Neither is reported as refusing North Carolina players, though both are reported as refusing Ohio. We earn a commission from these links, and the order is commercial.

Royal Ace: $2,500 Welcome Bonus + 35 Free Spins, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply). Third-party reviews disagree on the casino’s own package: casino.guru reports 250% up to $2,500 + 35 spins without stating wagering, while LCB reports 200% up to $4,000 at 30x (bonus + deposit) on slots, 60x on blackjack and video poker, a $30 card minimum and a max cashout of 10x the deposit. The terms shown at sign-up apply. See the Royal Ace review.

Slot Madness: $2,500 Welcome Bonus + 50 Free Spins, via our link (new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply). LCB reports a 275% match up to $2,750 at 30x (bonus + deposit) on slots, a $30 minimum and no max cashout, while casino.guru describes the 275% match as unlimited with 50 spins. Codes change, so check the cashier and terms at sign-up. See the Slot Madness review.

Bonus funds and spins are slot-focused, and table games are often excluded or weighted lower. For more options, see our best real money casinos list.

Ad21+ (18+ where allowed). Ranked by us in a commercial order; we earn commission from these links. Advertiser disclosure

Both casinos are offshore and not licensed by North Carolina or any US state. Their terms below come from third-party reviews, not from the casinos’ own sites.

Royal Ace Casino #6 on our listSlots and specialty games

$2,500 Welcome Bonus + 35 Free Spins

  • Wagering30x deposit + bonus on slots (reported)
  • Min deposit$30 (reported)
  • Max cashout10x deposit (reported)
  • Withdrawals$2,500 / week (reported)
Claim bonus21+. New players. Terms apply.Royal Ace review
Key terms, license and regulator notes

Published terms (reported): Third-party reviews disagree on the package (200% up to $4,000, or 250% up to $2,500 + 35 spins); the casino site could not be checked directly. Eligible games: Slots and specialty games (reported).

Who runs it: License not shown; third parties report Costa Rica or none. Regulator notes: Third parties report it does not accept Ohio players.

21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $30 (reported). Wagering 30x deposit + bonus on slots (reported). Max cashout: 10x deposit (reported). Withdrawal cap $2,500 / week (reported). Terms source: reported. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.

Slot Madness Casino #7 on our listSlots and keno

$2,500 Welcome Bonus + 50 Free Spins

  • Wagering30x deposit + bonus (reported)
  • Min deposit$30 (reported)
  • Max cashoutNone (reported)
  • Withdrawals$2,500 / week (reported)
Claim bonus21+. New players. Terms apply.Slot Madness review
Key terms, license and regulator notes

Published terms (reported): Third-party reviews report a 275% match up to $2,750 with code MAD275; the casino site could not be checked directly. Eligible games: Slots and keno (reported).

Who runs it: License not shown; third parties report Anjouan, Costa Rica or none. Regulator notes: Named in a Michigan Gaming Control Board cease-and-desist release, August 14, 2025.

21+ (18+ where allowed). New players. Min deposit $30 (reported). Wagering 30x deposit + bonus (reported). Max cashout: None (reported). Withdrawal cap $2,500 / week (reported). Terms source: reported. Terms apply. Offer checked October 28, 2026.

These casinos are offshore operators. They are not licensed or regulated by any US state, and state consumer protections do not apply. Check the law in your state before you play. Terms marked “reported” come from third-party reviews; the terms shown at sign-up apply.

21+ (18+ where allowed). Every casino game has a built-in house edge, so over time you should expect to lose what you stake. Set a budget before you play and stop when it’s gone: responsible gambling tools and free help. Gambling problem? Call or text 1-800-MY-RESET (1-800-697-3738).

Frequently asked questions

Can you play real money casinos online in North Carolina?

Real money online casinos aren’t authorized by any North Carolina law, and the State Lottery Commission says wagering outside the state’s legal channels is illegal. The only licensed real-money online betting is sports wagering through seven approved operators. Offshore casinos still accept sign-ups from many US states, but they have no North Carolina license. Read can I play online casinos in North Carolina for more.

Is Royal Ace Casino legit for North Carolina players?

It’s an offshore casino with disputed licensing and a poor payout record in third-party reviews. AskGamblers lists a Costa Rica license, while casino.guru and LCB say it has none. LCB lists it under a warning for slow payment, and reviewers report caps of $2,500 a week and $5,000 a month. No North Carolina or Michigan action naming it is on record. See is Royal Ace legit.

Is Slot Madness safe to use from North Carolina?

Slot Madness is offshore and outside any US state’s protection, and the Michigan Gaming Control Board ordered it to halt services on August 14, 2025. Reviews report conflicting licenses (Anjouan, Costa Rica or none), payout caps of $2,500 a week and $5,000 a month, and complaints about delayed withdrawals. No North Carolina action is on record. Read is Slot Madness legit before deciding.

Why was my card declined at an online casino from North Carolina?

Most likely, your bank blocked the payment. Card networks code gambling transactions as merchant category 7995, and many US issuers decline them by default or treat credit card gambling as a cash advance with extra fees. Federal UIGEA rules bar gambling businesses from accepting payments for internet gambling that’s unlawful where you are. Read why credit cards get declined for detail.

How long do Royal Ace and Slot Madness withdrawals take for North Carolina players?

Reported times range from days to over a month. AskGamblers lists a 7–10 day pending period plus 10–14 days for bank transfers at both, LCB says payouts usually come after a month or more, and one review says Slot Madness crypto payouts are typically quick. Neither casino’s own timing could be checked. Plan around the slowest figure. Our withdrawal times page explains each stage.

Do I pay taxes on online casino winnings in North Carolina?

Yes, gambling winnings are taxable federal income whether or not a casino issues a form. For 2026, the W-2G reporting threshold for slot winnings is $2,000. From the 2026 tax year the loss deduction is reported to be capped at 90% of losses and only up to winnings, so check IRS guidance. State income tax treatment isn’t covered here. See do I pay tax on casino winnings.

What is the minimum deposit at offshore casinos from North Carolina?

At Royal Ace and Slot Madness, LCB reports $30 for cards and $5 for Lightning Bitcoin. Other crypto minimums aren’t stated in the reviews, and a welcome bonus may need more than the cashier minimum. Treat these as third-party figures and confirm in the cashier. Our minimum deposits page explains why minimums vary by method.

Is online sports betting legal in North Carolina?

Yes, online sports betting has been legal and state-licensed since March 11, 2024, according to third-party reporting, and the State Lottery Commission lists seven licensed operators. You must be 21. Those sportsbooks come with state oversight that offshore casinos don’t have. Our North Carolina sports betting page covers the licensed options.

What is the Royal Ace welcome bonus for North Carolina players?

Via our link it's $2,500 plus 35 free spins for new players (21+, or 18+ where allowed; terms apply), but reviewers describe the casino's own package differently. casino.guru reports 250% up to $2,500 plus 35 spins without stating wagering. LCB reports 200% up to $4,000 at 30x deposit plus bonus on slots, 60x on blackjack and video poker, a $30 card minimum and a max cashout of 10 times the deposit, so a $100 deposit caps cashout at $1,000. The terms at sign-up apply. Our Royal Ace welcome bonus page compares the versions.

What is the Slot Madness bonus code for North Carolina players?

Third-party reviews report MAD275, a 275% match with 30x wagering on deposit plus bonus for slots and a $30 minimum deposit. LCB lists the match up to $2,750 with no max cashout, while casino.guru describes it as unlimited with 50 spins. The offer via our link is $2,500 plus 50 free spins for new players, 21+ or 18+ where allowed, terms apply. Slot Madness's own terms couldn't be checked, and codes change, so confirm in the cashier. Remember it's offshore and unlicensed in North Carolina. See Slot Madness bonus codes for updates.

How much does real money slot play cost per hour in North Carolina?

On average, total stake times the house edge. As an illustration, a 96% RTP slot has a 4% edge; at $1 a spin and 500 spins an hour, that's $500 staked and about $20 of expected loss per hour. At $5 a spin the same hour stakes $2,500 and costs about $100 on average. Single sessions swing far above or below that, but the average doesn't move in your favor. Set the hourly figure you're willing to spend before depositing, not after. Our casino math basics guide explains how to run the numbers for any game.

Can North Carolina players withdraw in Litecoin at Slot Madness?

Third-party reviews say yes. AskGamblers lists bank wire, check, Bitcoin and Litecoin as Slot Madness withdrawal methods, against bank wire, check and Bitcoin at Royal Ace. LCB reports a $20 minimum withdrawal at both, and AskGamblers reports no withdrawal fees. Weekly and monthly caps of $2,500 and $5,000 still apply whichever coin you choose, and a 7–10 day pending period is reported before processing. Neither casino's own banking page could be checked, so confirm in the cashier. Our Litecoin banking page compares it with Bitcoin for casino payouts.

Where can I gamble for real money legally in North Carolina?

In person at the state's tribal casinos, or online through a licensed sportsbook. Third-party reporting lists three tribal casinos: two run by the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians, including Harrah's Cherokee, and the Catawba Nation's Two Kings Casino in Kings Mountain, open as an introductory casino with a full opening expected in 2027. The age at the Cherokee casinos is reported as 21. Online, the State Lottery Commission licenses seven sports wagering operators, but no online casino. Our Native American casinos guide explains how tribal casinos are regulated.

What can a North Carolina player do if an offshore casino won't pay?

Your options are limited to the casino's own process and third-party complaint sites. No North Carolina regulator oversees offshore casinos, and crypto payouts can't be pulled back through a bank. Put the complaint in writing, quote the terms and keep every email and cashier record. Be aware that AskGamblers marks both Royal Ace and Slot Madness as terminated on its own complaints service, which narrows the mediation routes for those brands. Withdrawing in steps rather than leaving a large balance reduces what's at stake. Our answer to can I get my money back from a casino covers chargebacks.

Sources